Skip to content

Johan Santana throws five scoreless innings in first start since 2010

Apr 5, 2012, 2:44 PM EDT

New York Mets Photo Day Getty Images

After missing all of last season following shoulder surgery Johan Santana was back on the mound today for the first time since September of 2010 and held the Braves scoreless for five innings in a no-decision.

Santana unraveled a bit in his final inning, walking No. 8 hitter Tyler Pastornicky and pitcher Tommy Hanson, but escaped the jam by getting leadoff man Michael Bourn to hit one back to the mound.

His fastball topped out in the high-80s, but that wasn’t uncommon for Santana even before the surgery and he racked up five strikeouts in five innings, including Dan Uggla twice.

Santana threw 54 of 80 pitches for strikes while allowing just two hits and two walks. Not quite vintage Santana from his Cy Young-winning days, but close enough that the Mets have to be awfully pleased with how he looked after a 570-day layoff.

  1. sdelmonte - Apr 5, 2012 at 2:47 PM

    Looks like tossing scoreless innings is all the rage today. Not a run has scored yet.

    • phukyouk - Apr 5, 2012 at 2:50 PM


      • sdelmonte - Apr 5, 2012 at 3:23 PM

        Well, Craig heard us in both ears and posted.

      • phukyouk - Apr 5, 2012 at 3:31 PM


  2. phukyouk - Apr 5, 2012 at 2:47 PM

    there are 3 games in the 6th inning right now and they are all 0-0. pretty cool

  3. spizotfl - Apr 5, 2012 at 2:55 PM

    To be fair, he is facing the Braves. Sorry Craig.

  4. uyf1950 - Apr 5, 2012 at 3:02 PM

    Good for Santana. I hope he does well this season and remains healthy.

  5. mercyflush - Apr 5, 2012 at 4:04 PM

    Cant wait to see what Santana does against an Major League lineup.

  6. drubeatz - Apr 5, 2012 at 4:48 PM

    Nice outing. Mets in first place baby!!! I’m loving it while it lasts.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2623)
  2. G. Stanton (2478)
  3. D. Span (2423)
  4. Y. Puig (2383)
  5. J. Fernandez (2312)
  1. B. Crawford (2295)
  2. G. Springer (2229)
  3. M. Teixeira (2151)
  4. J. Hamilton (2093)
  5. H. Pence (1969)