Skip to content

Andy Pettitte allows one run over three innings in first minor league tune-up

Apr 9, 2012, 9:15 PM EDT

Andy Pettitte Getty Getty Images

After tossing a scoreless inning last Wednesday in the Yankees’ Grapefruit League finale against the Mets, Andy Pettitte made his first minor league start this evening with High-A Tampa.

According to Bryan Hoch of, Pettitte allowed one run on two hits over three innings while striking out two, walking one and throwing one wild pitch. Both hits were doubles and the lone run scored on a sacrifice fly in his second inning of work. He threw 26 out of 32 pitches for strikes.

Pettitte, 39, came out of retirement last month and signed a one-year, $2.5 million minor league contract with the Yankees. He’s effectively going through what we’d normally see from a starting pitcher during spring training, so he’ll likely need three or four more starts before being fully stretched out. If all goes well, he should make his return to the majors in May.

  1. randygnyc - Apr 9, 2012 at 9:35 PM

    26 of 32 for strikes. Pretty sharp. Pettitte will be a positive force this year for the Yankees.

    I wonder what we can get for Garcia? I’m looking for a Bard type of arm….

    • jwbiii - Apr 9, 2012 at 9:43 PM

      Should be able to do better than Josh Bard.

  2. syracuse451 - Apr 9, 2012 at 9:43 PM

    Klaw had him 85-87 easy arm action on the radar gun, with a great change, which is good to hear

  3. drewzducks - Apr 9, 2012 at 10:06 PM

    The cream or the clear ?

  4. aceshigh11 - Apr 9, 2012 at 11:28 PM

    Pretty impressive, given his age and after a year of inactivity. He’s a very smart pitcher who operates on finesse and pitch placement rather than heat. He will certainly come in handy for the Yankees this year.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2571)
  2. G. Stanton (2564)
  3. H. Ramirez (2536)
  4. G. Springer (2515)
  5. B. Crawford (2328)
  1. M. Teixeira (2317)
  2. H. Pence (2241)
  3. J. Baez (2226)
  4. J. Hamilton (2185)
  5. Y. Puig (2133)