Apr 17, 2012, 3:45 PM EDT
Delmon Young‘s hilarious defensive misplay last Friday was ruled a “triple” by the official scorer in Chicago despite the fact that he did a 360-degree spin going after a fly ball to left field … and then dropped it.
At the time I wondered what exactly the point was of even having “errors” if Young’s play wasn’t ruled as one. MLB apparently agreed, because Mark Gonzales of the Chicago Tribune reports that they’ve overruled the official scorer and changed it from a “triple” to an error.
And for anyone who missed the play the first time, here’s Delmon in all his outfielding glory:
- And That Happened: Monday’s scores and highlights 103
- Monday’s White Sox/Orioles game postponed due to ongoing protests and violence in Baltimore 152
- Cardinals confirm Adam Wainwright is done for season with torn Achilles 20
- Deal done: Josh Hamilton traded to the Texas Rangers for cash considerations 56
- Pitchers batting is dumb and the DH should be universal 356
- And That Happened: Sunday’s scores and highlights 88
- Alex Rodriguez hits 659th career home run, now one shy of tying Willie Mays 60
- Pitchers batting is dumb and the DH should be universal (356)
- Comment of the Day: do not underestimate the seriousness of the anti-DH crowd (199)
- The early leaders in MLB’s “Franchise Four” thing have been announced (166)
- The Royals and White Sox had a benches-clearing fracas, five players ejected (164)
- Monday’s White Sox/Orioles game postponed due to ongoing protests and violence in Baltimore (152)