Skip to content

Jose Reyes is taking the night off, but Hanley Ramirez will stay at third base

Apr 27, 2012, 1:43 PM EDT

Jose Reyes, Hanley Ramirez AP

Prior to the season Ozzie Guillen said that Hanley Ramirez wouldn’t be asked to shift from third base to shortstop if Jose Reyes was out of the lineup for a short period of time and sure enough the manager is following through with that today.

Reyes is taking the night off against the Diamondbacks in the midst of a 3-for-20 slump and Guillen is leaving Ramirez at third base, instead giving Donnie Murphy the start at shortstop.

Emilio Bonifacio slides into the leadoff spot to replace Reyes, with Murpy taking over for Bonifacio in the second slot.

Reyes has hit just .205 with a .263 on-base percentage and .329 slugging percentage through 18 games of his six-year, $106 million contract.

  1. gpatrick15 - Apr 27, 2012 at 2:32 PM

    These two may have some of the most sexually ambiguous photos in baseball history

    • Old Gator - Apr 27, 2012 at 3:47 PM

      They can’t hold a rubber ducky to Tweeter and Bryan Petersen.

  2. davebrownspiral - Apr 27, 2012 at 4:29 PM

    Reyes has taken virtually every night off so far this season. Why should tonight be any different?

  3. cur68 - Apr 27, 2012 at 5:21 PM

    Reyes should never, ever, not in billion, gazillion years, have allowed the Loria mandate that he should cut his hair, stand. Pretty much all his mojo was in them dreads. * sigh *

    Take the night off, Mojo-Less Reyes. Take the night off and don’t stand too close to them scissors, for they are your doom. While you’re lurking there, having your night off, if you see Mike “Iron Giant” Stanton, tell him I said “hi” and that I miss him.

  4. pxeeks - Apr 27, 2012 at 5:49 PM

    Horrible chemistry up and that Marlin roster. Reyes is a fraud too.

  5. Gobias Industries - May 1, 2012 at 12:56 PM

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2381)
  2. B. Crawford (2310)
  3. Y. Puig (2285)
  4. G. Springer (2057)
  5. D. Wright (2009)
  1. J. Hamilton (1993)
  2. J. Fernandez (1972)
  3. D. Span (1913)
  4. H. Ramirez (1880)
  5. C. Correa (1847)