Skip to content

That was quick: Red Sox send Jose Iglesias back to minors

May 3, 2012, 1:50 PM EDT

iglesias wide Getty Images

Called up Tuesday because the Red Sox needed some infield depth with Kevin Youkilis hurting but still on the active roster, Jose Iglesias is reportedly being sent back to Triple-A without getting into a game.

Youkilis was placed on the disabled list yesterday, with prospect Will Middlebrooks coming up from Triple-A to replace him at third base, which allows Nick Punto to remain in a backup role and made Iglesias superfluous.

And he certainly has plenty of work to do in the minors still, as the slick-fielding shortstop has hit just .229 with a .283 on-base percentage and .258 slugging percentage in 123 games for Pawtucket.

  1. sabathiawouldbegoodattheeighthtoo - May 3, 2012 at 2:19 PM

    Bye Bye Boston Ramiro Pena

  2. brokea$$lovesmesomeme - May 3, 2012 at 2:19 PM

    Is this considered a 5 hour energy drink or when this happened to a lite beer?

    • brokea$$lovesmesomeme - May 3, 2012 at 2:32 PM

      Thats supposed to have TLR between to and a. Even if you insert it, the flow is still messed up

  3. 18thstreet - May 3, 2012 at 2:21 PM

    I wish someone would describe me as “slick-fielding.”

  4. bigleagues - May 3, 2012 at 2:38 PM

    I’ve been stating this for two years . . . and will do so again . . .and again . . . Jose Iglesias will NEVER be the regular starting Shortstop for the Boston Red Sox.

    Yes he is a defensive wizard on the level of a John McDonald – or better – it’s just that John McDonald also happens to be Paul Molitor offensively when compared to Iglesias.

    So no one should be surprised when he has a quick trip to and from the big club.

  5. spudchukar - May 4, 2012 at 6:34 AM

    Well if Church isn’t the answer to Boston’s problems what is? Psychoanalysis? Should they bring up Adler?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2373)
  2. B. Crawford (2309)
  3. Y. Puig (2283)
  4. G. Springer (2055)
  5. D. Wright (2009)
  1. J. Hamilton (1992)
  2. J. Fernandez (1971)
  3. D. Span (1913)
  4. H. Ramirez (1878)
  5. C. Correa (1847)