Skip to content

David Robertson, Rafael Soriano to share closer duties for a while

May 4, 2012, 8:06 PM EDT

david robertson reuters Reuters’s Bryan Hoch spoke to Joe Girardi and he said that, to him at least, it sounds like both Rafael Soriano and David Robertson will be getting save opportunities in Mariano Rivera‘s absence.

I figured that it would automatically fall to Robertson because is clearly the better pitcher. But really, if the lack of a formal title means that Girardi will use Robertson when he is needed most — which could be the eighth inning obviously — that may be better.

Still, don’t hold your breath for any kind of flexible, old-school relief ace deployment here.  Managers just don’t seem to have those kinds of cajones these days. It’s just so unconventional, and the first time the second best pitcher loses a game in the ninth, you know Girardi would be raked over the coals.

  1. illad3lph1a - May 4, 2012 at 8:41 PM

    Wow girardi just name your best bullpen pitcher the. Loser already and stop babying him…

  2. illad3lph1a - May 4, 2012 at 8:41 PM


  3. randygnyc - May 4, 2012 at 11:18 PM

    I’m pretty sure girardi’s refusal to publicly commit has nothing to do with Robertson and everything to do with soriano’s sensitive psyche.

  4. pisano - May 5, 2012 at 11:23 AM

    Either one is more than capable of closing on the big stage, now if the Yankees could only have a lead in the ninth to use either one of them.

    • cackalackyank - May 6, 2012 at 10:21 AM

      Yeah…see I think that might be the bigger problem for now. You do have to score more runs than your opponent to have people be eligible for a save. With CC being the ace and a lot inconsistency behind him the Yankees are going to need much better production from the line up for that to happen.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2786)
  2. C. Correa (2485)
  3. Y. Puig (2464)
  4. G. Stanton (2408)
  5. G. Springer (2331)
  1. H. Pence (2247)
  2. J. Hamilton (2144)
  3. M. Teixeira (1934)
  4. H. Ramirez (1917)
  5. J. Fernandez (1890)