Skip to content

Nick Swisher (hamstring) back in Yankees’ lineup Sunday

May 6, 2012, 2:37 PM EDT

swisher reuters Reuters

From beat reporter Pete Caldera of the Bergen Record comes word that Yankees outfielder Nick Swisher is back in the starting lineup for Sunday afternoon’s series finale against the Royals.

(Though the forecast looks nasty in Kansas City).

Swisher had missed six straight games because of a tweaked left hamstring. He is slated to serve as New York’s designated hitter on Sunday and should return to his usual spot in right field on Tuesday night.

The 31-year-old boasts a .284/.355/.617 batting line, six home runs, nine doubles and 23 RBI through 93 plate appearances this season for the fourth-place Bombers. DeWayne Wise drew the start in right field on Saturday and Andruw Jones played there Friday.

  1. royalsfaninfargo - May 6, 2012 at 3:13 PM

    Not only is he back, he hit a homer in the 3rd. I wish the Royals would admit that Hochevar is a bust and get rid of him. He is one of the worst #1 overall draft picks in a long time.

    • zackd2 - May 6, 2012 at 4:47 PM

      His salary is only 3m this year so it was worth it to them to see if he could build off of last year; next year arb will bring him up to 5-6m, he’ll be non-tendered and you’ll get your wish

  2. randygnyc - May 6, 2012 at 3:40 PM

    Hochevar is a bust? I think he’s got a great arm, and has 3 good pitches, but is young and often suffers from the one blow up inning. I can’t imagine them giving up on the guy they’re hoping becomes their ace. (I’m a Yankee fan, living in NY so I could be wrong. Local news is often different from what’s reported in national sports news)

    • zackd2 - May 6, 2012 at 4:49 PM

      Not young, 29 in Sept.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2806)
  2. C. Correa (2580)
  3. Y. Puig (2515)
  4. G. Stanton (2472)
  5. G. Springer (2400)
  1. H. Pence (2327)
  2. J. Hamilton (2188)
  3. M. Teixeira (1985)
  4. H. Ramirez (1955)
  5. J. Fernandez (1930)