Skip to content

Andy Pettitte will get his full $2.5 million as of Thursday

May 14, 2012, 1:32 PM EDT

Seattle Mariners v New York Yankees Getty Images

Thursday is a big day for Andy Pettitte. He vests fully:

Andy Pettitte will be guaranteed his full $2.5 million from the New York Yankees come Thursday …

His contract calls for a $2 million base salary, and since he missed the first 39 days of the season the prorated share of his base pay is $1,573,770. His contract calls for two roster bonuses: $500,000 for five days and $250,000 for 10 days. It also calls for performance bonuses of $500,000 for one start and $250,000 each for two and three starts.

Seems kind of odd that Pettitte should get so much benefit from five or ten days on the roster, but then again, when he signed there was no guarantee that his arm wouldn’t fall clean off after a rehab start or two.  He’s Pettitte so he seems as solid a bet or anything, but it’s not like there’s a long and glorious history of guys his age taking a year off, not engaging in any baseball activities, and then just starting up again.

  1. buffalomafia - May 14, 2012 at 3:01 PM

    Sorry Andy you should have stayed retired!

    The Yankees leave more men on base than any team in MLB. It shouldn’t happen with all the power they have!

    Did anybody else ever notice majority of Yankee batters look @ a pitch down the middle of plate & then swing @ some pitch in the dirt!?

    Again! It shouldn’t happen with all that power!

  2. brian32556 - May 14, 2012 at 4:22 PM

    Maybe they aren’t off to a great start, but that isn’t exactly true about all of them all the time. AND, as most people expect that these guys will produce the numbers on the back of their baseball cards, there is certainly much to look forward to!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2769)
  2. Y. Puig (2441)
  3. C. Correa (2427)
  4. G. Stanton (2382)
  5. G. Springer (2293)
  1. H. Pence (2217)
  2. J. Hamilton (2109)
  3. M. Teixeira (1897)
  4. H. Ramirez (1895)
  5. J. Fernandez (1865)