Skip to content

Blue Jays place Ben Francisco on DL, call up David Cooper

May 25, 2012, 3:15 PM EDT

Blue Jays rightfielder Ben Francisco dives for and misses a fly ball during their MLB Grapefruit League baseball game in Dunedin Reuters

Ben Francisco exited yesterday’s game with a strained hamstring and today the Blue Jays placed him on the disabled list while recalling first baseman David Cooper from Triple-A.

Francisco has played sparingly for the Blue Jays, getting most of his starts versus left-handed pitching and hitting just .206 with a .535 OPS in 37 plate appearances.

Cooper has impressive Triple-A numbers, batting .347 with more walks (89) than strikeouts (62) in 162 total games there dating back to last season, but Las Vegas is an extremely hitter-friendly environment and his lofty average comes with just 15 homers in 730 plate appearances.

He’s also 25 years old, has never played a position other than first base, and struggled in 27 games for the Blue Jays last season. He could get an extended look at first base following Adam Lind’s demotion to the minors last week, although that would involve manager John Farrell having to juggle the rest of the lineup a bit.

  1. proudlycanadian - May 25, 2012 at 3:27 PM

    Cooper had not done much in the minors until last season. He hit well in spring training in 2011 and won the PCL batting championship at Las Vegas last year. His BA this year is not as good. He sort of reminds me of Lyle Overbay. Down at Double A, Mike McDade shows more promise as a slugging first baseman. Cooper will be given a chance to show his skills, but may not last very long in the majors this time.

  2. missthemexpos - May 25, 2012 at 3:35 PM

    Will fill in for the Jays until Vlad is ready for prime time.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2793)
  2. C. Correa (2528)
  3. Y. Puig (2490)
  4. G. Stanton (2433)
  5. G. Springer (2361)
  1. H. Pence (2277)
  2. J. Hamilton (2169)
  3. M. Teixeira (1956)
  4. H. Ramirez (1932)
  5. J. Fernandez (1901)