Skip to content

Boston’s banged-up outfield gets Ryan Sweeney back

May 28, 2012, 11:19 AM EDT

Ryan Sweeney AP

Ryan Sweeney passed his post-concussion tests and has been activated from the disabled list, giving the Red Sox a much-needed boost for their injury wrecked outfield.

Prior to the concussion Sweeney had started 22 times in right field compared to six times in center field, but he’s in today’s lineup as the center fielder with Adrian Gonzalez in right field, Daniel Nava in left field, and Marlon Byrd and Scott Podsednik on the bench.

To make room for Sweeney’s return the Red Sox optioned Che-Hsuan Lin back to the minors.

  1. hammyofdoom - May 28, 2012 at 1:00 PM

    Sweet, that puts the Sox at I think 8 outfielders on the DL. The fact they are even staying afloat amidst all of this crap is amazing to me

    • baseballisboring - May 28, 2012 at 2:33 PM

      It is, but I think it bodes well. Ellsbury should be back in July, Crawford and Bailey will be returning eventually, Melancon is dominating in AAA but for some reason he hasn’t gotten another chance…Dice-K certainly isn’t anything to get excited about but he’ll at least provide some depth when he comes back. If they win today (they’re up 5-1 in the 4th) they’ll be an even .500, which you’re right, is pretty amazing to me.

      • rollinghighwayblues - May 28, 2012 at 3:46 PM

        I was excited thinking about the Red Sox possibly being above. 500 for the first time this season if they can get a win tomorrow then saw that Verlander is slated to start.

      • baseballisboring - May 28, 2012 at 4:00 PM

        ^ Yeah, kinda puts a damper on things.

  2. mybrunoblog - May 28, 2012 at 3:48 PM

    I’m almost sad we didn’t get the over used “MASH Unit” cliche in describing the Red Sox outfield.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2745)
  2. B. Crawford (2577)
  3. Y. Puig (2432)
  4. G. Springer (2327)
  5. C. Correa (2220)
  1. H. Ramirez (2206)
  2. J. Fernandez (2110)
  3. D. Wright (2101)
  4. J. Hamilton (2100)
  5. H. Pence (2073)