Skip to content

Magglio Ordonez to retire Sunday at “Magglio Ordonez Day”

May 29, 2012, 2:44 PM EDT

magglio ordonez getty Getty Images

Magglio Ordonez was unable to latch on with a new team after rehabbing his second ankle surgery and Jason Beck of reports that the six-time All-Star will make his retirement official Sunday at “Magglio Ordonez Day” in Detroit.

Ordonez spent his first eight seasons with the White Sox and his final seven seasons with the Tigers, hitting .309 with 294 homers, 2,156 hits, and an .871 OPS to rank among the best right-handed hitters of the past 20 years.

He struggled last season after coming back from ankle surgery, hitting .255 for the first sub-.280 batting average of his career, and then re-fractured his ankle during the playoffs, forcing him into retirement at age 37.

According to Beck the Tigers will honor Ordonez with a pregame ceremony at Comerica Park.

  1. WhenMattStairsIsKing - May 29, 2012 at 2:58 PM

    You had a hell of a career, Maggs. Enjoy retirement.

  2. unlost1 - May 29, 2012 at 3:13 PM

    great player. but no hall of fame

    • nelsonsaint - May 29, 2012 at 3:44 PM

      Has anyone ever thought of him as HOF worthy? News to me.

  3. jwbiii - May 29, 2012 at 3:42 PM

    I am older than I was before reading this. When the White Sox first called up Ordonez, he lived in the same crappy apartment complex as one of my cousin’s kids. Now he’s retiring.

  4. dodger88 - May 29, 2012 at 4:10 PM

    Still remember his HR against Oakland to win the 2006 AL Pennant. Very nice career.

    • bearsrulepackdrool - May 29, 2012 at 4:49 PM

      Really? I remember the Championship parade that the Sox had in 2005 in his honor. O wait…

  5. Detroit Michael - May 29, 2012 at 4:25 PM

    How about free Maggs wigs (circa 2006) to kids under age 14? Those were good times.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2858)
  2. C. Correa (2669)
  3. Y. Puig (2594)
  4. G. Stanton (2562)
  5. G. Springer (2542)
  1. H. Pence (2415)
  2. H. Ramirez (2265)
  3. J. Hamilton (2253)
  4. M. Teixeira (2207)
  5. J. Baez (2124)