Skip to content

Day after no-hitter, R.A. Dickey settles for shutout

Jun 2, 2012, 7:23 PM EDT

R.A. Dickey

R.A. Dickey couldn’t match Johan Santana‘s feat on Saturday, but he did give the Mets back-to-back shutouts for the second time in eight days.

Dickey pitched a seven-hitter for his third career shutout as the Mets topped the Cardinals 5-0 on Saturday. He’s won six straight and is now tied for the major league lead in victories at 8-1 with a 2.69 ERA for the season.

Thanks to Santana and Dickey, the Mets have recorded four shutouts in seven games.  Santana notched two of them by himself. The Mets also won 2-0 behind Dickey against the Padres last Sunday, though the bullpen got the final five outs that day.

  1. bleedgreen - Jun 2, 2012 at 7:40 PM

    Since I’m a Phils fan, I’m supposed to hate all Mets, but I can’t help but root for Dickey. Glad he’s having a good year.

  2. hojo20 - Jun 2, 2012 at 8:51 PM

    Mets – so far the 2012 feel good story of MLB!!

    • Old Gator - Jun 2, 2012 at 11:56 PM

      It’s early. They’re still the Mutts, remember?

  3. jimeejohnson - Jun 2, 2012 at 8:52 PM

    I’m having a cheesesteak in your honor, as I am a Mets fan.

    • Old Gator - Jun 2, 2012 at 11:58 PM

      It’s a long season. There’s no reason to punish your cardiovascular system with horrible horsemeat and Velveeta™ sandwiches.

  4. aceshigh11 - Jun 2, 2012 at 10:06 PM

    The NL East and AL East divisions are crazy this year.

    All 10 teams are over .500. Only 3 games separate first and last in the AL East; 3.5 games in the NL East.

    All 10 teams also have positive run differentials on the season aside from, surprisingly, the Mets, who have a -11 differential but who are nonetheless in 2nd place.

  5. jjpileggi - Jun 3, 2012 at 11:13 AM

    Dickey is a great story. Here’s hoping he starts the All Star game and keeps the Mets in the race.

    John Pileggi

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Red Sox shopping Lester and Lackey
Top 10 MLB Player Searches