Skip to content

Mets 3, Nationals 1: Dickey beats Wang

Jun 7, 2012, 5:00 PM EDT

New York Mets v Washington Nationals Getty Images

The highly anticipated (by 12 year-olds and me) matchup of R.A. Dickey and Chien-Ming Wang went down today. For those who like to keep track of such things, Dickey beat Wang, with the Mets prevailing over the Nats 3-1.

Dickey is the first pitcher in the majors to make it to nine wins. He was masterful today, throwing shutout ball into the eighth inning while allowing only four hits. Wang wasn’t quite as hard on opposing hitters, allowing eight hits over five and a third. He allowed only two runs, but in a close game like this with his pitcher running out of stamina, Johnson had to pull Wang.

Lucas Duda hit a two-run homer for the Mets and Daniel Murphy singled in an insurance run in the seventh. The win averts a sweep by the Nats. And ends the matchup that I’ve been giggling about all week because, again, I am the most immature 38 year-old father of two you will ever have the misfortune of encountering.

  1. larryboodry - Jun 8, 2012 at 4:19 AM

    My inner 12-year-old must post this to Facebook.

  2. highlander24 - Jun 8, 2012 at 4:24 AM

    Wang just sucked more than Dickey.

  3. dwaynehosey - Jun 8, 2012 at 9:35 AM

    The key to Wang going long is the balls being rubbed up sufficiently before starting.

  4. steelersfan1983 - Jun 8, 2012 at 5:47 PM

    Other possible headlines:

    Nationals struggle with Wang loss

    Dickey bludgeons the Nat’s Wang with knuckle balls

    After only 84 throws, Nats forced to pull out Wang

    In a dominating fashion, Dickey puts a strangle hold on the Nat’s Wang to stop the come from behind effort.

  5. anxovies - Jun 8, 2012 at 6:18 PM

    There used to be a beverage store in the town where I went to college named “Dick’s Liquors.”

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2519)
  2. C. Correa (2517)
  3. Y. Puig (2512)
  4. B. Crawford (2402)
  5. H. Pence (2273)
  1. G. Springer (2224)
  2. H. Ramirez (2157)
  3. M. Teixeira (2144)
  4. J. Hamilton (2126)
  5. J. Baez (2096)