Skip to content

The end of last night’s Royals/Cardinals game was pretty wild

Jun 16, 2012, 11:28 AM EDT

AP Tyler Greene Humberto Quintero AP

The end of last night’s game between the Royals and Cardinals was truly bizarre.

Jonathan Broxton entered the bottom of the ninth with a 3-2 lead and retired the first two batters he faced before giving up a two-out single to Tyler Greene. With Rafael Furcal at the plate as a pinch-hitter, Greene took off for second base. The throw by catcher Humberto Quintero was into the runner and shortstop Alcides Escobar was unable to track it down. As the ball trickled toward the outfield, Greene alertly darted for third base which drew an off-balance throw from second baseman Chris Getz. However, the throw sailed past third baseman Mike Moustakas and into foul territory. Greene then made one final mad dash toward the plate, but Moustakas made an accurate throw to Quintero, who applied the tag for the final out of the ballgame.

You can watch the thrilling play in full here.

The play at the plate was very, very close. After seeing multiple replays, I still can’t make up my mind on it. However, Quintero did an excellent job blocking Greene’s slide just long enough to convince home plate umpire Alan Porter that he applied the tag in time. And it took a perfect throw from Moustakas to even make it close.

  1. cur68 - Jun 16, 2012 at 11:46 AM

    Just watched it. I think, think Greene’s safe…but even on replay, that’s too close to overrule the ump. Wow. Mike Moustakas has some hose, eh?

    • marshmallowsnake - Jun 16, 2012 at 12:57 PM

      He was safe. Watch the glove and when it tags him switch to his foot. He has a lot of the plate. So unless he tagged him bringing the glove over, which is shielded on that angle, then he is safe.

  2. dawgpoundmember - Jun 16, 2012 at 12:49 PM

    just from reading it is pretty bizarre, i would think a catcher might back up 3rd when the ball is thrown that way, but i guess that would be the left fielders job in that case

    • gostlcards5 - Jun 16, 2012 at 2:39 PM

      No, the catcher can’t back up 3rd…because his job is to cover the plate if the runner comes around.

      The only time a catcher backs up a base is on ground balls with either no one on, or just a runner on 1st. Then, the catcher’s job is to back up 1st base.

  3. qacm - Jun 16, 2012 at 12:52 PM

    I’m sure it must have happened many times, but I can’t recall ever seeing a play where a runner slides into three different bases on the same play. Definitely a wild finish!

  4. xmatt0926x - Jun 16, 2012 at 1:19 PM

    I love that moment when after going nuts about the out at the plate for 3 minutes the announcers have that slightly awkward moment after watching the slo-mo replay when they go silent because they realize that the opposing player was actually safe, but they refuse to say it.

    • normswifevera - Jun 16, 2012 at 6:20 PM

      That’s not nearly as great as the moment when 40,000 people start eruping in unison, thinking they’re about to tie the game, only to for all of them to get a swift kick to the bawls at exactly the same moment.

      Be honest, unless it happens to you, it’s hilarious.

  5. mlp3180 - Jun 16, 2012 at 1:47 PM

    Forget the video – the AP pic you have with this posting looks like Quintero has the tag before Greene’s foot is on the plate. That was a heckuva block.

    • paperlions - Jun 16, 2012 at 2:34 PM

      In that picture, Quintero isn’t touching Greene with anything.

      • gostlcards5 - Jun 16, 2012 at 2:41 PM

        PL is right, the glove doesn’t hit him at that point. Quintero actually hits him in the chest with the tag.

      • timstl - Jun 16, 2012 at 5:58 PM

        Agreed. I know it’s a bad angle, but it sure doesn’t look like he’s tagging him yet to me.

        But either way, it’s not a bad call. That’s about as close as it can get. Even after watching the replay several times I couldn’t tell you definitively one way or the other.

  6. gostlcards5 - Jun 16, 2012 at 2:36 PM

    If you advance it frame by frame, you can see that he’s safe. Greene’s foot pushes Quintero’s and reaches the left edge of the plate just before the glove hits him in the chest.

    Oddest part is, Quintero caught the ball down close to Greene’s foot and then brought it up into his chest. If he’d kept the glove down and swept it over to the foot/leg, there would’ve been no doubt that Greene was out.

    Either way, great play on the throw home. The other two throws….not so much!

    • stlouis1baseball - Jun 18, 2012 at 9:08 AM

      Yeah…he definately tagged him high. Great block of the plate…but it still looks like he was safe (due to the high tag). Obviously, I am biased and it was certainly close. As someone else posted…frame by frame you can see he was safe (again as a result of the high tag).
      Regardless…wonderful throw by Moustakas though (as you mention).
      Just another example to throw into the replay discussion.

  7. dawgpoundmember - Jun 16, 2012 at 5:39 PM

    Well gostlcards, the Rockies might want to re-think that game plan

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Patience finally paying off for Royals fans
Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. R. Castillo (3103)
  2. G. Stanton (2270)
  3. N. Arenado (2140)
  4. J. Hamilton (2129)
  5. A. Rizzo (2119)
  1. C. Kershaw (2117)
  2. D. Ortiz (2052)
  3. M. Trout (2011)
  4. A. Pujols (1809)
  5. H. Ryu (1749)