Skip to content

Interesting fallout from the Bob Davidson-Mike Matheny double switch snafu

Jun 27, 2012, 10:56 AM EDT

bob-davidson-umpire AP

Derrick Goold has a followup report regarding Monday night’s screwed up double-switch in the Cardinals-Marlins game.  Two things of note.

First, some nice accountability from the umps, as crew chief Jerry Layne said that it’s everyone’s responsibility to get the lineup card right in such situations. Nice accountability from Matheny too, who says that going forward that he will be crystal clear in his changes. After all, even though I don’t think he was in the wrong, he could probably have made it totally clear that he meant the five-position in he field being substituted, and not the five-spot in the order.

More interesting is this passage:

During its postgame show Fox Sports Midwest played audio of Davidson telling Guillen that he “(messed) it up.” The Cardinals sent an email to St. Louis-area radio stations Tuesday morning asking that they “refrain” playing that audio clip. A source provided the Post-Dispatch with the email. Sent by a club official, the note said the commissioner’s office required field conversations be cleared by Major League Baseball before airing.

Replaying audio of an umpire dropping an F-bomb apparently counts as a “rebroadcast, retransmission, or account” of a game. Who knew?  I would think that such a thing is independently newsworthy as opposed to being someone trying to use MLB-sanctioned audio for unauthorized purposes or something, but I suppose we’ll let the copyright lawyers chime in on that one. My gut feeling, though, is that this is just another instance of a copyright holder claiming more rights than they actually hold.

I question whether any sports radio station would comply with that, though. Maybe if the audio had a longer shelf life than the Davidson stuff it’d be tested, but I guess now it’s run its course.

  1. bigleagues - Jun 27, 2012 at 11:06 AM

    Nice accountability all around – to be sure – although short of watching Davidson write the switch down – I’m not sure how much more Matheny could have done. They were standing so close to one another they could have been kissing.

    Now the real test begins. Will Jim Joyce issue a similar statement about how he and Mike DiMuro could have better handled last night’s phantom catch at Yankee Stadium?

  2. WhenMattStairsIsKing - Jun 27, 2012 at 11:10 AM

    I find it interesting that the ump admitted fault at all.

    • CJ - Jun 27, 2012 at 11:23 AM

      isn’t that twice in two days? I’m surprised the universe hasn’t exploded yet.

      • WhenMattStairsIsKing - Jun 27, 2012 at 11:34 AM

        Haha, right? The world’s upside down.

  3. hisgirlgotburrelled - Jun 27, 2012 at 12:06 PM

    I find this incredibly ridiculous that there could be a mix up in substitutions. Baseball isn’t new, and neither is the double switch. How is there not one official scorecard with substitutions readily available for both teams and the umpires? That should have been reviewed, not Davidson’s memory. They could even have a small tv in the dugout that’s updated with each change. Instead, they rely on a laminated lineup taped to the wall, and a card in the ump’s pocket?

    • natstowngreg - Jun 27, 2012 at 1:36 PM

      Last night, late in the Nats-Rockies game, Davey Johnson came out to show the umps that the scoreboard had his team’s lineup wrong. Obviously, with multiple copies of the lineups on the field and in the dugouts, the scoreboard version is hardly official. But it could cause confusion.

      • hisgirlgotburrelled - Jun 27, 2012 at 2:20 PM

        Not talking about a person hitting buttons for the scoreboard. The scoreboard is for fans. Talking about 1 scorekeeper. You make changes with that person. There should never be a chance where a coach asks an umpire to consult a piece of paper in his back pocket for the official lineup, only to have the umpire second guess what he wrote with his tiny pencil.

      • natstowngreg - Jun 27, 2012 at 9:35 PM

        Understood. An interesting idea. But fans aren’t the only ones who watch the scoreboard.

        Davey spotted the error on the scoreboard, or someone in his dugout spotted it and alerted him. He thought it significant enough that he came out to alert the umpires.

  4. ndnut - Jun 27, 2012 at 12:40 PM

    Baseball is SOOOO progressive, right?

  5. deathmonkey41 - Jun 27, 2012 at 12:45 PM

    “Replaying audio of an umpire dropping an F-bomb apparently counts as a “rebroadcast”

    If that’s the case, then I rebroadcast about 50 f#cking times a day.

  6. highump - Jun 27, 2012 at 10:52 PM

    Matheny needs to be more specific. On different amateur levels, I have never heard a coach tell me a sub goes in for the “five-position”, where he was taking about the 3rd base, rather than the 5th spot in the order. The umpire holding the lineup card is primarily concerned with batting order, as the position in the field can be readily seen by everyone when he takes said position.

    That being said, the umpire needs to repeat what he thinks was said back to the coach. This is officiating 101, no matter what the sport.

    FYI… There is 1 scorekeeper who keeps the lineup/official scorebook, he just happens to be in the pressbox. The umpire holds the official lineup card, and he notifies the official scorekeeper when a change is made. The change becomes official when the player takes his position in the field (defensive), or the player is announced (offensive).

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2486)
  2. D. Span (2327)
  3. G. Stanton (2260)
  4. Y. Puig (2225)
  5. J. Fernandez (2179)
  1. B. Crawford (2012)
  2. G. Springer (2002)
  3. M. Sano (1804)
  4. M. Teixeira (1801)
  5. J. Hamilton (1725)