Skip to content

All-Star Game starting pitcher (Loaiza, Mulholland, Penny, Nagy) isn’t always big name

Jul 9, 2012, 5:27 PM EDT

terry mulholland

This year’s All-Star Game starting pitchers, Justin Verlander and Matt Cain, are certainly both big names with excellent track records, but it’s interesting to note that the honor of starting an All-Star Game doesn’t always go to elite pitchers.

Obviously any pitcher who starts an All-Star Game is by definition having an excellent season at the time–so please hold onto those angry comments and e-mails–but here’s a list of some All-Star Game starters during the past 20 years: Esteban Loaiza, Terry Mulholland, Brad Penny, Charles Nagy, Kenny Rogers, Derek Lowe, Ubaldo Jimenez.

I could go on, but you get the idea.

Back in 2006 the game featured a scintillating Kenny Rogers-Brad Penny matchup and following Roger Clemens’ start in 2001 the American League had a five-year run in which they started Derek Lowe, Esteban Loaiza, Mark Buehrle, Mark Mulder, and Kenny Rogers.

Verlander-Cain is pretty damn good.

  1. brewcrewfan54 - Jul 9, 2012 at 5:57 PM

    While I agree that none of those guys have the ability of Cain or Verlander just about all of them had several seasons where they were pretty damn good. Definitely weren’t all 1 year wonders.

  2. fodmonster - Jul 9, 2012 at 6:25 PM

    Dickey deserves the NL nod…not saying Cain v Verlander is a bad match up but Dickey has been lights out so far this year.

  3. billymc75 - Jul 9, 2012 at 6:34 PM

    The only reason Wash is not stating Harrison is because he’d be ripped by fans and media for starting his own guy.

  4. cosanostra71 - Jul 9, 2012 at 8:30 PM

    hey Aaron, no need to hate on Kenny Rogers.

  5. elchief157 - Jul 10, 2012 at 5:17 AM

    What happend to R.A. Dickey? Tony LaRussa is a Bum

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2843)
  2. Y. Puig (2675)
  3. B. Crawford (2660)
  4. C. Correa (2646)
  5. G. Springer (2632)
  1. H. Ramirez (2562)
  2. H. Pence (2457)
  3. M. Teixeira (2382)
  4. J. Hamilton (2327)
  5. J. Baez (2304)