Skip to content

American League favored over National League tonight

Jul 10, 2012, 2:50 PM EDT

gambling poster

Betting on the All-Star game seems like the kind of thing that might finally convince someone they have a serious gambling problem, so I’ll pass this along purely from a “this is sort of interesting” standpoint: Tonight the American League are -140 favorites over the National League.

For the non-degenerates in the crowd, that means to win $100 betting on the American League to win you’d have to risk $140. For that to be profitable the AL would have win about 60 percent of the time (they’re the “home” team and home teams during the regular season have won 52 percent of the time).

On one hand the National League has actually won back-to-back All-Star games. On the other hand the American League has won interleague play every season since 2004. And on a third hand … don’t bet on the All-Star game.

  1. headbeeguy - Jul 10, 2012 at 3:02 PM

    I’m not a big fan of my family, friends or job…
    I don’t have a house, car, children or a future…
    Looks like I check out. $100 on the NL!

  2. number42is1 - Jul 10, 2012 at 3:26 PM

    On the other hand…No…there is no other hand! NO, CHAVA!! NO!!

  3. jlovenotjlo - Jul 10, 2012 at 4:53 PM

    How about betting on any number of the insanely stupid props, well now we’re on to something…

    Over/Under on Strikeouts in the game sits at 15.5 ….Let’s flip a coin weighted against you…

  4. 78mu - Jul 10, 2012 at 11:50 PM

    The real insanity are people that want to bet on preseason football games. As if they have to get in betting shape for the regular season.

    Now if you are betting against the Harlem Globetrotters you really have a problem. Or you are Krusty the Clown.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3158)
  2. G. Stanton (2564)
  3. M. Teixeira (2485)
  4. H. Olivera (2406)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2387)
  1. J. Fernandez (2360)
  2. K. Medlen (2181)
  3. Y. Puig (2132)
  4. G. Perkins (2087)
  5. J. Eickhoff (2059)