Skip to content

Robert Andino joins Brian Roberts on the disabled list

Jul 17, 2012, 3:15 PM EDT

Robert Andino Getty Images

Baltimore is already without Brian Roberts and the man who’s filled in for him at second base for most of the past two seasons, Robert Andino, has now joined him on the disabled list.

Andino strained his left shoulder diving for a ball Sunday. Or as manager Buck Showalter put it: “He’s got some fibers he tore in there and some strain up in the shoulder.”

He’s expected to miss 3-4 weeks, which leaves the Orioles dipping down to third on the depth chart for career minor leaguer Steve Tolleson and Rule 5 pick Ryan Flaherty. Of course, Orioles second basemen rank 29th among MLB teams with a .563 OPS overall this season, so it can’t get a whole lot worse.

  1. randomdigits - Jul 17, 2012 at 3:35 PM

    At least they can blame this season’s collapse on injuries. (Although the team as built is deeply flawed even when healthy)

    • madhatternalice - Jul 17, 2012 at 8:33 PM

      It’s not the injuries that will cause/have caused the collapse, it’s the lack of depth. We talked about it at the beginning of the season: the healthy starters were performing well (Arrieta aside). But once those players started getting hurt, the O’s severe lack of a bench really showed. That’s why the Thome trade was so astounding: the O’s didn’t need another pure hitter, they needed another IF who could hit.

  2. Joe - Jul 17, 2012 at 4:11 PM

    Portland, Maine represent! Flaherty’s .508 OPS fits well with the Orioles’ other second basemen, but that 30:2 K/BB ratio needs work.

  3. cheers4ablumpkin - Jul 17, 2012 at 4:42 PM

    Brian Roberts is a pussy

  4. sabathiawouldbegoodattheeighthtoo - Jul 17, 2012 at 5:17 PM

    Is this a reason for the Red Sox to be optimistic about the rest of their season?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2821)
  2. D. Span (2388)
  3. G. Stanton (2294)
  4. J. Fernandez (2288)
  5. F. Rodney (2130)
  1. G. Springer (2065)
  2. M. Teixeira (2000)
  3. Y. Puig (1946)
  4. G. Perkins (1927)
  5. C. Sabathia (1822)