Skip to content

Ryan Braun out of Brewers’ lineup today after aggravating season-long groin injury

Jul 18, 2012, 11:51 AM EDT

Ryan Braun AP AP

Ryan Braun left last night’s game after aggravating a lingering groin injury and as expected he’s not in the Brewers’ lineup for today’s game.

Milwaukee has Thursday off, so this gives Braun some extra rest before potentially rejoining the lineup Friday in Cincinnati for what’s the start of 12 games in 12 days.

Of course, he’s no sure thing to be ready by then. Adam McCalvy of reports that Braun “has been receiving treatment for that ailment since it sidelined him a couple of games in spring training.”

Braun explained that he’s “had it all year, off and on” and “I try to manage as best I can.”

Braun started 84 of the Brewers’ first 90 games, hitting .309 with a .394 on-base percentage and .608 slugging percentage to nearly duplicate his MVP-winning .397 on-base percentage and .597 slugging percentage from last season.

  1. plmathfoto - Jul 18, 2012 at 12:08 PM

    Who knew he had a groin?

    • number42is1 - Jul 18, 2012 at 12:12 PM

      the guy who took his piss test probably…

      • plmathfoto - Jul 18, 2012 at 1:11 PM

        Wonder if Braun will claim he mishandled his groin too? Or not claim it, but allege it gutless as he is.

      • koufaxmitzvah - Jul 18, 2012 at 1:37 PM

        Yes. Ryan Braun is gutless. While the anonymous message board poster is an all-powerful, clairvoyant sage. At least, till the end of summer vacation.

  2. number42is1 - Jul 18, 2012 at 12:31 PM

    Damn…. Brauns Groin just keeps getting him into more and more trouble.

  3. ajcardsfan - Jul 18, 2012 at 12:54 PM

    That photo makes me think of Family Guy,
    “This is how a crab walks”

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3177)
  2. G. Stanton (2598)
  3. M. Teixeira (2491)
  4. H. Olivera (2419)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2405)
  1. J. Fernandez (2399)
  2. K. Medlen (2193)
  3. Y. Puig (2155)
  4. G. Perkins (2095)
  5. J. Eickhoff (2066)