Skip to content

Dead deal: Tigers no longer working on landing Alfonso Soriano from Cubs

Jul 31, 2012, 3:27 PM EDT

Alfonso Soriano Reuters

3:25 p.m. EDT update: USATODAY’s Bob Nightengale reports that Soriano won’ t be moved before the deadline. Of course, with his contract, he’ll clear waivers and could be dealt afterwards.

CBS Sports’ Danny Knobler confirms that “Tigers people say they are not getting Soriano.”


Alfonso Soriano wasn’t interested in going to San Francisco. What does he think of Detroit?

According to CSN Chicago’s David Kaplan, the Tigers and Cubs are working on a Soriano deal which would presumably include a boatload of cash also headed to Detroit with the outfielder. The Tigers would likely play Soriano in left and Quintin Berry in right, making both Brennan Boesch and Andy Dirks expendable. Perhaps one of those two would go to Chicago in return.

  1. sabathiawouldbegoodattheeighthtoo - Jul 31, 2012 at 3:18 PM

    Play him at 2B, you know, for defense.

  2. jeffbbf - Jul 31, 2012 at 3:18 PM

    OMG, please.

  3. jeffbbf - Jul 31, 2012 at 3:19 PM

    OMG, please let this happen

  4. raindog - Jul 31, 2012 at 3:20 PM

    Clearly working on owning the worst defense of all-time.

  5. theawesomersfranchise - Jul 31, 2012 at 3:26 PM

    Rumor has it this isn’t happening prior to the deadline

    • kkolchak - Jul 31, 2012 at 3:30 PM

      Shouldn’t ever happen. Ever.

  6. number42is1 - Jul 31, 2012 at 4:02 PM

    Can someone please remind me… if he is not traded by the deadline but clears waivers and is then traded is he eligible for the post season assuming its before Sept 1?

    • hep3 - Jul 31, 2012 at 4:21 PM


    • Matthew Pouliot - Jul 31, 2012 at 4:56 PM

      Yep, as long as he’s in the organization by Sept. 1, he’s eligible for the postseason.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2493)
  2. G. Stanton (2482)
  3. Y. Puig (2464)
  4. B. Crawford (2352)
  5. H. Pence (2225)
  1. G. Springer (2193)
  2. M. Teixeira (2114)
  3. H. Ramirez (2101)
  4. J. Hamilton (2082)
  5. J. Baez (2061)