Skip to content

A.J. Pierzynski homers in fifth straight as White Sox win

Aug 5, 2012, 5:55 PM EDT

A.J. Pierzynski AP

A.J. Pierzynski didn’t start Sunday, but it didn’t stop him from hitting his 21st homer as the White Sox beat the Angels 4-2.

Pinch-hitting for Tyler Flowers, Pierzynski hit a tie-breaking two-run homer off Jason Isringhausen in the bottom of the seventh. It was his fifth straight game with a homer, matching a White Sox record.

Seven White Sox have homered in five straight games, including Frank Thomas twice. Paul Konerko was the last to do it last season.

Pierzynski’s 21 homers are three more than his career high from 2005, his first season in Chicago. He’s gotten there in just 311 at-bats. Between 2010 and ’11, he had 17 homers in 938 at-bats.

  1. kkolchak - Aug 5, 2012 at 6:11 PM

    Wow–A.J. really hit that piece of sh@t! 😀

  2. millerhour - Aug 5, 2012 at 6:28 PM

    Juicing! 😉

  3. retaeyssup - Aug 5, 2012 at 7:54 PM

    Yup. All signs point to roids. Homer output and he’s angry all the time.

  4. surly1n1nd1anapol1s - Aug 5, 2012 at 8:29 PM

    And this feat means nothing.

    • kkolchak - Aug 5, 2012 at 8:43 PM

      I guess you missed the part where it said “tie-breaking two-run homer” and the White Sox won. So, yeah, it actually did mean something.

  5. vincentbojackson - Aug 5, 2012 at 11:14 PM

    Why do teams still roll Isringhausen out there? Surely there’s a guy in rookie ball with better stuff than him these days.

  6. gmsingh - Aug 6, 2012 at 7:05 AM

    And on the other side of town Theo Epstein would’ve have traded A.J. if he had him as part of the “rebuilding process”. Apparently the more games you lose the better the rebuilding is going.

    • stex52 - Aug 6, 2012 at 1:16 PM

      That does seem to be the model they go by.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2786)
  2. C. Correa (2485)
  3. Y. Puig (2464)
  4. G. Stanton (2408)
  5. G. Springer (2331)
  1. H. Pence (2247)
  2. J. Hamilton (2144)
  3. M. Teixeira (1934)
  4. H. Ramirez (1917)
  5. J. Fernandez (1890)