Skip to content

Angels protest of Friday night’s game denied

Aug 6, 2012, 2:30 PM EDT

Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim v Chicago White Sox Getty Images

The Angels lodged a formal protest of Friday night’s game against the White Sox.

The basis for the protest: In the first inning of the game, Paul Konerko hit a grounder to third with the bases loaded and no outs. Alberto Callaspo started what was to be a 5-2-3 double play. He went home with the throw to force out Alejandro De Aza at the plate, and then Chris Iannetta‘s threw to first. The throw pulled Albert Pujols off the bag, however. Mike Scioscia argued, however, that Konerko’s running path was in the direct throwing lane of Iannetta, causing the throw to sail wide. Thus the protest.

Just a few minutes ago, Joe Torre said nope, protest denied.  Which was expected because, really, when was the last time anything like that was upheld?  I can’t remember one anyway.

The game now remains an 8-6 win for the Sox thanks to an Alex Rios walk-off homer in the 10th.

  1. darthicarus - Aug 6, 2012 at 2:33 PM

    Just once I would like Joe Torre (MLB) to approve the protest just to see Bud Selig’s head explode trying to figure out what to do next.

    • Glenn - Aug 6, 2012 at 2:48 PM

      Bud would declare the game a tie, make it for “real” the next time, and move one of the teams to the National League.

  2. crisisjunky - Aug 6, 2012 at 3:00 PM

    MLB Tonight had a deal on this the other night, Ripken rightly suggesting to simply eliminate the wite line, and set te base exactly the 15 inches from the foul line.
    Either way, I personally would just like to see the explosion.

  3. mybrunoblog - Aug 6, 2012 at 3:04 PM

    Protesting a MLB game is like trying to stop the ocean with your fists.
    An exercise in futility.

  4. hisgirlgotburrelled - Aug 6, 2012 at 3:35 PM

    I’m not really sure what he’s protesting, really. Protests are for when an umpire incorrectly applies rules, not for missed calls. Then again, in the George Brett pine tar game the rule was applied correctly, just not “in the spirit” of the rule.

    Google says last time one was upheld was 1986. Last year I thought the Phillies had a real chance to break the streak of denied protests in a game where the umps used instant replay on a ball that was not a HR and ended up calling the batter out on fan interference.

    • notsofast10 - Aug 6, 2012 at 4:21 PM

      Absolutely! Scioscia protested a judgement call , he should no better than that! Protests will only be upheld if the umpires botch a rule!

    • crackersnap - Aug 6, 2012 at 7:41 PM

      He was protesting that what the umps saw, and agreed to, caused Iannetta to throw wide. The umps did agree that, in their judgement, Konerko was running inside the base line and could have been called for interference. The reason they decided that it was not interference was because Iannetta’s throw was wide. Scioscia was claiming that the reason it was wide was BECAUSE of the interference. And, if you watch Iannetta you will see a slight hesitation, so he has a point.

      But, yeah, Iannetta’s mistake was not drilling Konerko in the back. Konerko knew exactly what he was doing. (Does anybody recall the May 2011 game between the Angels and White Sox where Pierzynski and Konerko had primed the umps to call Bourjos for interference on a much less egregious route? There is some history here.)

      Iannetta was not ever going to be rewarded for being a nice guy and trying to work around Konerko. And it’s ludicrous to hope that the umps – or, more unbelievably, the Front Office – was going to help the Angels’ cause there. Take matters into your own hands and force the issue. You have to make things overwhelmingly obvious for these guys and even then it’s a crapshoot (Napoli tagging out Posada and Cano right in front of Tim McClelland in the 2009 ALCS, anyone??)

  5. icanspeel - Aug 6, 2012 at 3:45 PM

    Next time they should just throw the ball straight and if the runner is in the way.. they are out if they are on the grass and get hit. Not ideal, but it is the rule.

    • sabatimus - Aug 6, 2012 at 3:58 PM

      They aren’t automatically out, but hitting the runner in the back with a ball while he’s clearly running inside in order to obstruct a throw does tend to call the attention of the umps, and generally results in the runner being out due to said obstruction. So I think it’s a good tactic. If the umps are going to game the system (as they do with strike/non-strike calls, not touching 2nd base on a double play, etc), the teams should respond in kind.

  6. blackandbluedivision - Aug 6, 2012 at 4:14 PM

    I find this post to be offensive and from here on out I am commenting under protest!

    Maaaan, get the **** out of here.

  7. danfrommv - Aug 7, 2012 at 3:07 AM

    Missed call after missed call after missed call. They need to GREATLY EXPAND reply in MLB. They need to automate balls and strikes calls. Umpires are useless

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Angels' 2011 overhaul finally paying off?
Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (3926)
  2. R. Castillo (3153)
  3. A. Rizzo (2492)
  4. A. Pujols (2186)
  5. H. Ryu (2144)
  1. E. Gattis (2113)
  2. J. Hamilton (1947)
  3. C. Davis (1947)
  4. B. Belt (1922)
  5. C. Young (1822)