Skip to content

The Pirates and Reds are not liking one another right now

Aug 6, 2012, 12:31 PM EDT

Andrew McCutchen AP AP

On Friday, Andrew McCutchen was hit by a 101 mile-an-hour fastball by Reds’ closer Aroldis Chapman. Then on Saturday, Reds starter Mike Leake hit Pirate Josh Harrison and barked at him. Yesterday Rod Barajas and Starling Marte were each hit by Reds pitchers.

The Pirates did not retaliate during A.J. Burnett‘s win yesterday. And Barajas explained why:

“If A.J. drills someone, he gets thrown out. What good is that going to do us?” Barajas — Burnett’s personal catcher — asked. “Then, we have to go to our bullpen early with a long stretch of games coming up. That makes no sense. There is a time and a place for [retaliation]. Today was the time to win. We got that done.”

G.M. Neal Huntington mentioned something about it too:

“The competitor in you wants immediate payback,” general manager Neal Huntington said. “But there’s a right time and a right way of doing things. Even then, [the retaliation] might not be as blatant as you would want it.”

A.J. Burnett added “We haven’t forgotten.”

I find it interesting. Partially because there was none of that tit-for-tat baseball justice which you’d normally expect to see. Also because, if and when the Pirates do hit someone on the Reds the next time they meet, I wonder if these kinds of quotes will form the basis of a suspension, given that they clearly indicate some sort of intent for the future.

  1. whodeydaytonchapter - Aug 6, 2012 at 5:31 PM

    I could see the Pirates getting upset about Chapman hitting your best player in that situation. Truth is a 101 MPH thump to the arm in that situation is a Reds win/win. 2 outs, bottom of the ninth and a closer that is untouchable? Why not get the .373 hitter a little banged up and off his game for the next two days? Also the strategy is sound because it worked (see NL Central standings). But the breaking ball that didn’t break from Leak the next day was an over the top reaction by the Pirates. If the Bucks do this much crying over this, I can’t wait to see what they do when the Cards get it together and steal their wild card spot.

  2. oruacat2 - Aug 6, 2012 at 6:42 PM

    No mention of the extra shove that the Pirate baserunner gave the Reds pitcher covering 1B on that groundball during Saturday’s game?

    • oruacat2 - Aug 6, 2012 at 6:47 PM

      Sorry, got my facts mixed up. This is how it went down:

      “Then Pittsburgh pitcher Jared Hughes used extra-curricular activity to tag out Reds catcher Dioner Navarro, giving him a hefty shove after making the tag.”

    • oruacat2 - Aug 6, 2012 at 6:52 PM

      From the Reds’ website:

      “Whether it was built-up frustration or an attempt at payback, the Pirates took things a step further in the eighth inning of the Reds’ 5-4 win Saturday after reliever Jared Hughes surrendered what proved to be the game-winning run.

      Catcher Dioner Navarro chopped a grounder toward first base. Hughes had a routine tag out but added a little extra shove on Navarro to end the play, answered by a swarm of boos from the Cincinnati crowd.”

  3. oruacat2 - Aug 6, 2012 at 7:01 PM

    BTW – this isn’t exactly a “new” rivalry. Old school Reds and Pirates fans will remember that we’ve had a competitive history over the years – just not recently. Hell, just in my lifetime we beat Pittsburgh for the NL pennant in 1970, 1972, 1975, and 1990. The Pirates knocked us out of the 1979 playoffs. I like that this rivalry seems to have a new life.

  4. coachbeck - Aug 7, 2012 at 3:20 AM

    Lol pirates fans . …first thing to talk about since bonds/Bonilla. Go away, your second place… Cards will prob catch you anyway. When votto and Phillips are back they can carry some cold bats. And with our pen. It’s almost like the nasty boys. Go reds

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2501)
  2. G. Stanton (2492)
  3. Y. Puig (2486)
  4. B. Crawford (2376)
  5. H. Pence (2240)
  1. G. Springer (2202)
  2. M. Teixeira (2120)
  3. H. Ramirez (2115)
  4. J. Hamilton (2100)
  5. J. Baez (2077)