Skip to content

GM: “Jason Bay is not going anywhere, nor is his contract”

Aug 8, 2012, 10:15 AM EDT

Jason Bay Getty Getty Images

Yesterday manager Terry Collins revealed that Jason Bay will no longer be an everyday player for the Mets, which led reporters to ask general manager Sandy Alderson if the team was considering simply eating the remainder of his contract while parting ways.

Alderson shot that down, telling Andrew Marchand of ESPN New York:

Certainly, there are times when it is appropriate to eat a contract. There are other times when it is not. Jason Bay is not going anywhere, nor is his contract.

This is the third season of a four-year, $66 million deal, so the Mets owe Bay about $5 million for the rest of this season, $16 million next season, and $17 million or a $3 million buyout for 2014. In other words, releasing Bay right now would involve eating $24 million, which is why the Mets will hope that he can provide some sort of value as a part-time player first.

Bay joined the Mets in 2010 as a 31-year-old with a career .280 batting average and .896 OPS, but since then he’s hit just .238 with a .695 OPS in 259 games, including .157 this year.

  1. eshine76 - Aug 8, 2012 at 10:26 AM

    Of course he isn’t going anywhere… who wants a bench player who is owed $24 million? (resisted urge to insert overused Harper quote)

    • elmaquino - Aug 8, 2012 at 10:37 AM

      Which one, bro?

    • spudatx - Aug 8, 2012 at 3:18 PM

      Most everyone said Vernon Wells and his contract would never be able to be traded…

  2. frenchysplatediscipline - Aug 8, 2012 at 10:41 AM

    Would it be too much for Pirates fans to apologize for getting upset when the team let Mclouth and Bay get away?

  3. sdelmonte - Aug 8, 2012 at 11:37 AM

    He’s kind of like the Astrodome now, isn’t he?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2750)
  2. B. Crawford (2583)
  3. Y. Puig (2435)
  4. G. Springer (2333)
  5. C. Correa (2230)
  1. H. Ramirez (2215)
  2. J. Fernandez (2115)
  3. J. Hamilton (2105)
  4. D. Wright (2101)
  5. H. Pence (2078)