Skip to content

Astros demote RBI leader J.D. Martinez to minors

Aug 10, 2012, 11:51 AM EDT

J.D. Martinez AP

I’m not much for evaluating hitters based on RBI totals, but it’s still interesting that the struggling Astros have demoted their RBI leader, J.D. Martinez, to Triple-A after he was their starting left fielder for the first two-thirds of the season.

Martinez has a team-high 54 RBIs in 102 games, although that a) isn’t all that many and b) comes with a measly .235 batting average, 11 homers, and .681 OPS. And those modest season totals include a very strong April, after which Martinez has hit just .222 with a .276 on-base percentage and .352 slugging percentage in 80 games.

Martinez jumped from Double-A to the majors, so the Astros are hoping it’ll be easier for him to work on his swing while playing at Triple-A for the first time and most likely he’ll be back in Houston as a September call-up.

  1. whodeytn - Aug 10, 2012 at 12:11 PM

    The worst team in baseball sends this guy down, and the Reds continue to give Miguel Cairo starts.


    • raysfan1 - Aug 10, 2012 at 12:22 PM

      Every time i see Miguel Cairo’s name, I get PTSD flashbacks from when he was a Devil Ray.

      • mgdsquiggy17 - Aug 10, 2012 at 12:36 PM

        it’s Dusty Baker can’t be that surprised. This is Neifi Perez all over

  2. theawesomersfranchise - Aug 10, 2012 at 12:22 PM

    Chances he is getting sent down as a “hard lesson” ?

    (Winter is Coming)

  3. chiadam - Aug 10, 2012 at 1:37 PM

    I’ve never even heard of this guy and he leads a MLB team in RBIs.

    Good times in Houston.

  4. hushbrother - Aug 10, 2012 at 9:23 PM

    And I recall a few people saying Cain’s perfect game came against a “not terrible” offensive team. Nope, it’s terrible.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2806)
  2. C. Correa (2580)
  3. Y. Puig (2515)
  4. G. Stanton (2472)
  5. G. Springer (2400)
  1. H. Pence (2327)
  2. J. Hamilton (2188)
  3. M. Teixeira (1985)
  4. H. Ramirez (1955)
  5. J. Fernandez (1930)