Skip to content

And we have our first bad call of the night

Aug 17, 2012, 7:19 PM EDT

Nick Markakis, Alex Avila

It took about seven minutes from the start of Friday’s Orioles-Tigers game for the home-plate umpire to cost Baltimore a run.

Nick Markakis was safe on a close play at home plate in the top of the first inning tonight, but he was called out by Tim Timmons, who actually might have blown two calls on the play; Markakis was trying to score on a Nate McLouth roller down the first-base line that actually looked like it was picked in foul territory. That it was ruled fair was Timmons’ call as well.

So, the Orioles lost at least one run to start off with, and now the Tigers have quickly taken a 1-0 lead on Miguel Cabrera‘s homer in the bottom of the first.

  1. keithbangedyermom - Aug 17, 2012 at 7:24 PM

    Long live the human element!!

    • manchestermiracle - Aug 18, 2012 at 5:22 PM

      Right. Because, after all, folks pay good money to go to a game and watch non-athletes waddle around the diamond and screw up the contest.

  2. yankeeket - Aug 17, 2012 at 7:36 PM

    He was safe. They showed the replay several times and his leg was in the air when he was tagged

    • Matthew Pouliot - Aug 17, 2012 at 8:04 PM

      Yeah, it was in the air when he was tagged, but he had already touched the plate.

  3. yankeeket - Aug 17, 2012 at 7:38 PM

    Sorry that should say out not safe.

  4. edgarallan926 - Aug 17, 2012 at 7:44 PM

    Watch the replay again and show me where he even tagged him at all, maybe on the arm after he was already in but a brush at best

  5. jackhitts - Aug 17, 2012 at 7:54 PM

    His foot was above the plate when Avila made the tag.

  6. jackhitts - Aug 17, 2012 at 8:00 PM

    Also, it was Nate McLouth batting, not Adam Jones.

    • Matthew Pouliot - Aug 17, 2012 at 8:04 PM

      Correct, I blew that. Jones ended the innings.

  7. edgarallan926 - Aug 17, 2012 at 8:05 PM

    Again, watch the replay from CF. His glove doesn’t move with contact and Markakis’ pants don’t react either = no tag.

  8. bmorethansteel - Aug 17, 2012 at 9:02 PM

    blown call. leg was up in the air after foot touched home. simple physics

  9. scoutsaysweitersisabust - Aug 17, 2012 at 9:11 PM

    Looks like the umpiring crew decided to compound their mistakes by blowing a call at first, overturning it, then improperly throwing out Reynolds for throwing his glove on the ground. Absolutely ridiculous. It’s time for umpire reform. These guys need to come to the realization they are not the ones people come to see. And the scorer decided to add insult to injury by charging Machado with an error.

    (Yes, he was safe at first, but the first base umpire had no business overturning the call after Leyland complained, then asking the home plate umpire for his opinion.)

    • randomdigits - Aug 17, 2012 at 11:17 PM

      He was out at first.

      http://oi49.tinypic.com/v5vln5.jpg

      • scoutsaysweitersisabust - Aug 17, 2012 at 11:42 PM

        His foot was on the bag with the ball, but for only a split second. Often times a runner will be declared safe if the fielder cannot maintain contact with the bag. The point is, the play was too close to call (even on the dozens of replays I watched in super slow motion in high definition on a 71″ television). The initial ruling should not have been overturned, and asking for help from the home plate umpire, who had NO way of seeing the call, was simply wrong. It sets up a terrible precedence. To cap it off, Reynolds shouldn’t have been tossed, as throwing your glove on the ground is an equipment violation and is subject to a fine, not an ejection.

      • randomdigits - Aug 18, 2012 at 12:34 AM

        Where does it say you have to “maintain contact”?

      • scoutsaysweitersisabust - Aug 18, 2012 at 1:49 AM

        Same place where it says that a tie goes to the runner. It’s just one of those things that becomes a judgement call, and a lot of umpires tend to make a safe call if the first baseman comes off the bag involuntary after only grazing the bag for a split second. (It’s happened to me several times as I spent a lot of my time playing first.) I’m not saying it’s right, he was in fact out. It is similar to how often a shortstop will get away with not touching second on a double play because he was in the general area.

        However, watching the play live, there’s a good case for either safe or out to be called. But in no case should that call have been overturned, and it certainly should not have been discussed with umpires who clearly had no view of the play in question. You overturn a call when you were clearly wrong. Not when no one has any clue what really happened. That’s the time to trust your first instinct. Or institute instant replay.

  10. sisqsage - Aug 17, 2012 at 9:35 PM

    You guys can’t even agree whether or not he was safe/out after looking at TV replays several times.
    At least that ump can make up his mind….even if he is right/wrong.

  11. sophiethegreatdane - Aug 18, 2012 at 1:39 AM

    He was safe, and was called safe by the first base umpire. Replays showed he was safe, if only for a split second while Reynolds was extended.

    The problem is two fold: first of all, the call was OVERTURNED. When is the last time you’ve EVER seen a play at first overturned?????

    Seriously, when was the last time a safe/out play was overturned at first? I mean, come on, the Tigers of all teams should know that never gets overturned — look at the perfect game that was lost on a clear mistake by the first base umpire that was not overturned!

    In this case, the umpire who was RIGHT THERE got the call right, but then the second base umpire — WHO WAS NEVER IN THE CORRECT PLACE TO MAKE THE CALL, NEVERMIND OVERTURNING AN EXISTING CALL — stepped in to make an “incorrect correction.”

    THEN!!! — they tossed Reynolds (for once the hottest hitter on the team) in the middle of a pennant race. This is not football. Tossing your glove is defined clearly as an equipment violation, subject to fines by MLB, and not something subject to ejection.

    Disgraceful.

    • normcash - Aug 18, 2012 at 2:13 AM

      Very bizarre. I’ve NEVER seen a call at a base overruled. And if the first base ump asked for help, I’ve never seen that either. And I’m 64 and have watched thousands of games. The Tigers
      telecasters had never seen anything like it either. That call didn’t result in anything for the Tigers, but Baltimore lost its first baseman. One the Markakus play at home in the first, I thought he was safe when it happened. But Detroit TV had a great ground level shot
      from a cam in the third base dugout that showed Markakus’ foot hit the ground in front of the
      plate, bounced up and OVER the plate, but not ON the plate when Avlila tagged him. He was out.

    • sophiethegreatdane - Aug 18, 2012 at 9:28 AM

      See, this is what happens when I post at 1:39 am, after six hours at the Leinenkugel beer garden, with those tap tables where you can draw your own pint.

      My apologies to the innocent.

      Let this be a lesson to you kids out there! Leinenkugel’s Creamy Dark will lead you down the path of the dark side.

  12. DJ MC - Aug 18, 2012 at 10:15 AM

    http://www.masnsports.com/school_of_roch/2012/08/reynolds-earns-high-marks-for-honesty.html

    Some of Reynolds’ comments after the game.

    It would probably have been better for him if he just slugged one of the umps (though to be fair, he probably would have whiffed, but had he made contact, hoo boy).

    • randomdigits - Aug 18, 2012 at 12:05 PM

      Naw, if he had made contact he would be looking at a suspension. Considering that the Umps blew the call, and ejected him over throwing his glove, he will just get a fine for his comments.

    • scoutsaysweitersisabust - Aug 18, 2012 at 12:57 PM

      Here is the full transcript of his comments.

      http://www.baltimoresun.com/sports/orioles/blog/bal-mark-reynolds-unplugged-orioles-first-baseman-rips-umpires-after-reversed-call-20120817,0,192180.story

  13. stevem7 - Aug 18, 2012 at 2:31 PM

    The only way garbage like this is going to change is for the media, all over the country, to concentrate their focus on these bad calls. It has to be night after night, throwing in the face of SILLYPANTS Selig and Joe Torre in newspapers and tv that there is a MAJOR problem with the men in blue and that a fair number of them are unable to adequately do their job. At least 50% of them cannot call balls and strikes correctly, and at least 20% of them cannot get other plays right. And I’m not talking the mistake of a Jim Joyce which cost a guy a perfect game. Jim stood up and said he was wrong and he was sick about it. But here you have the HP umpire last night making not one but two very very bad calls and there is absolutely nothing done. Add to it that an umpire, who got the call right, didn’t have the fortitude to tell Leyland to get back in the dugout … instead allowing him to question his own judgement. Something has really got to be done about ML umpires. And for the record I am a fan of another team so I had no dog in this fight last night.

  14. manchestermiracle - Aug 18, 2012 at 5:19 PM

    Gee, the ump made a mistake? What a shocking development….

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Jackie Robinson Day is bittersweet
Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. T. Wood (6569)
  2. J. Kubel (5844)
  3. I. Nova (4984)
  4. S. Kazmir (4643)
  5. K. Uehara (3867)
  1. M. Moore (3828)
  2. Z. Britton (3527)
  3. J. Johnson (3389)
  4. T. Walker (3189)
  5. J. Chavez (3116)