Skip to content

Robinson Cano returns, Mark Teixeira sits with sore wrist

Aug 17, 2012, 6:26 PM EDT

Mark Teixeira AP

The Yankees have Robinson Cano back from a sore neck Friday in the opener of a three-game series against the Red Sox, but Mark Teixeira is absent from the lineup due to an inflamed wrist, the LoHud Yankees Blog reports.

Teixeira initially injured the wrist on July 29 and missed a couple of games.

“It’s something he’s been battling since he hurt it the first time,” manager Joe Girardi said. “It got to the point where we’re going to have to give him some time off again. I don’t think that it’s a long-term problem, but we’ve just got to get through this. I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s more than a day.

Teixeira received a cortisone shot after the initial injury and could get another soon, depending on how the wrist feels in the next day or two. He’d been decent enough while playing through the soreness, batting .259 with three homers and seven RBI in 14 games this month.

With Teixeira absent, the Yankees will go with the following lineup tonight against lefty Franklin Morales:

DH Derek Jeter
1B Nick Swisher
2B Robinson Cano
RF Andruw Jones
3B Casey McGehee
CF Curtis Granderson
C Russell Martin
SS Jayson Nix
LF Ichiro Suzuki

  1. southofheaven81 - Aug 17, 2012 at 6:37 PM

    Swisher’s a decent 1st baseman but not nearly as good as Stretch Armstrong Teixeira.

    • deathmonkey41 - Aug 17, 2012 at 9:14 PM

      And he doesn’t almost give himself an aneurysm trying to pull the ball no matter where the pitch is or the situation

  2. professormaddog31 - Aug 17, 2012 at 8:22 PM

    I must have had a really hard day because I totally misread that headline as “Mark Teixeira slits his wrists”. YIKES.

  3. thatyankeedude - Aug 17, 2012 at 10:27 PM

    It’s amazing they win with a weak line up like that, guess it shows what a good all around team they r.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. H. Ramirez (2428)
  2. G. Stanton (2383)
  3. G. Springer (2368)
  4. C. Correa (2326)
  5. J. Baez (2316)