Skip to content

Giants get a reprint for Melky Cabrera T-shirt night

Aug 21, 2012, 7:02 PM EDT

Melky Cabrera AP

Sept. 8 is “Gigantes T-shirt” day at AT&T Park, and while Melky Cabrera‘s name isn’t attached to the promotion, it seems his likeness was going to be on the apparel, something that might have been even more embarrassing than tonight’s Hunter Pence bobblehead night in Philly.

Fortunately, the Giants were able to get a redo on the tees before they were printed, CSN Bay Area’s Andrew Baggarly reports. The shirts, set to be handed out to the first 20,000 fans at the game, will now feature Angel Pagan instead.

Frankly, I’d still rather go Sept. 22 for Pablo Sandoval Garden Gnome night.

  1. dondada10 - Aug 21, 2012 at 7:13 PM

    So you mean to tell me that children in Africa are going to be walking around with Melky Cabrera on their t-shirts now?

  2. raysfan1 - Aug 21, 2012 at 7:17 PM

    I like the Pablo Sandoval Garden Gnome idea. Hope that one gets some legs

    • dondada10 - Aug 21, 2012 at 7:24 PM

      It’s happening. 9/22.

      • raysfan1 - Aug 21, 2012 at 10:51 PM

        Oh, now I wish I could get there. That’s a hoot. Might have to scope out eBay afterward.

  3. tfbuckfutter - Aug 21, 2012 at 8:05 PM

    Couldn’t they have just tripled the size of his head, a la Barry Bonds?

  4. fuddpucker - Aug 21, 2012 at 9:30 PM

    In every single picture of Melky holding that AllStar award bat he looks like a wax statue. I wonder if taking all dem’ roids did that to him?

  5. Marty - Aug 21, 2012 at 9:55 PM

    They could have kept the old shirts and changed the event to Amish appreciation night.

  6. stlouis1baseball - Aug 22, 2012 at 2:54 PM

    fuddpucker: I am right there with you. He looks like a Mannequin.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3046)
  2. J. Fernandez (2500)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2412)
  4. G. Stanton (2369)
  5. D. Span (2260)
  1. F. Rodney (2093)
  2. Y. Puig (2089)
  3. M. Teixeira (1996)
  4. G. Springer (1968)
  5. H. Olivera (1934)