Skip to content

Red Sox activate Vicente Padilla from disabled list

Aug 21, 2012, 4:48 PM EDT

Vicente Padilla AP

Vicente Padilla is back from the disabled list following a minimum 15-day stay, rejoining the Red Sox’s bullpen after missing time with a biceps injury.

To make room for Padilla’s return the Red Sox sent Danny Valencia to Triple-A after initially calling him up to help sub for the injured Will Middlebrooks at third base. Instead of turning to Valencia–who was acquired from the Twins in a small trade two weeks ago–manager Bobby Valentine opted to go with Nick Punto as Middlebrooks’ primary fill-in.

Padilla threw 39 innings with a very strong 43/11 K/BB ratio and very underwhelming 4.62 ERA before getting hurt. He’ll slide back into a setup role.

  1. lewp - Aug 21, 2012 at 4:53 PM

    Time for the opposing teams to check their batting helments..

  2. sabatimus - Aug 21, 2012 at 5:14 PM

    What was Padilla REALLY on the DL for? Strained right attitude?

  3. tfbuckfutter - Aug 21, 2012 at 5:18 PM

    “He’ll slide back into a setup role.”

    What is he supposed to be setting up? The post game buffet tables?

    That’s about the only setting up I see in the near future.

    • sabatimus - Aug 21, 2012 at 5:29 PM

      He’s “setting up” a list of which hitters he’ll plunk next, of course!

  4. deathmonkey41 - Aug 21, 2012 at 5:48 PM

    He’s going to celebrate being activated by getting drunk and sweating.

  5. bozosforall - Aug 21, 2012 at 9:37 PM

    Good…more HRs for the opposing team…and more crying from the loser Boston fan base.

  6. dirtyharry1971 - Aug 21, 2012 at 11:46 PM

    now boston should be putting this guy in the rotation because to me this guy is the “answer” to boston’s rotation issues. And extend his contract already!!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2546)
  2. G. Stanton (2494)
  3. H. Ramirez (2476)
  4. G. Springer (2475)
  5. B. Crawford (2286)
  1. M. Teixeira (2275)
  2. H. Pence (2198)
  3. J. Baez (2198)
  4. J. Hamilton (2154)
  5. Y. Puig (2101)