Skip to content

Chad Tracy gets a one-year extension from the Nationals

Aug 24, 2012, 7:27 PM EDT

Chad Tracy

Chad Tracy has only logged 68 plate appearances this year, but he has apparently made a pretty good impression on the Nationals.

According to Mark Zuckerman of, Nationals manager Davey Johnson announced before tonight’s game that the club has signed Tracy to a one-year contract extension. No word yet on the terms, but he is expected to receive a raise from his $750,000 salary from this season.

After spending last season with the Hiroshima Toyo Carp of Japan’s Central League, Tracy joined the Nationals over the winter on a minor league deal and made the Opening Day roster after Rick Ankiel suffered a quad injury. The 32-year-old suffered a torn right groin muscle in May and missed nearly two months, but he has made the most out of his limited opportunities off the Nats’ bench, hitting .283/.353/.517 with three home runs, 13 RBI and an .870 OPS.

  1. goskinsvt - Aug 24, 2012 at 7:41 PM

    Steve Lombardozzi, Roger Bernadina, Chad Tracy, Tyler Moore…Nats have a pretty good bench.

    • natstowngreg - Aug 24, 2012 at 11:26 PM

      By far the best bench since the team moved to Washington. Tracy has been a pleasant surprise as a PH and depth at 1B and 3B. Bernadina has finally emerged as an MLB hitter; and Lombardozzi and Moore (who was supposed to be hitting homers at Syracuse) have hit better than expected as rookies.

      The bench wasn’t that good earlier in the season because members of the Goon Squad (with Tracy as their leader) had to fill-in for injured starters. Recently, the return of those injured starters allowed the Nats to drop Rick Ankiel and Xavier Nady, who weren’t producing.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3074)
  2. J. Fernandez (2529)
  3. D. Span (2449)
  4. Y. Cespedes (2439)
  5. G. Stanton (2433)
  1. F. Rodney (2160)
  2. Y. Puig (2155)
  3. M. Teixeira (2115)
  4. G. Springer (2040)
  5. H. Olivera (1961)