Skip to content

Tony DeFrancesco gets his first win as Astros manager

Aug 25, 2012, 10:31 AM EDT

Tony DeFrancesco AP AP

He had to wait a while, but Tony DeFrancesco finally has his first win as a major league manager, as the Astros topped the Mets 3-1 last night at Citi Field. DeFrancesco managed 17 years in the minors before taking over for Brad Mills last Sunday and was 0-4 as interim manager going into last night’s game.

Jordan Lyles tossed six innings of one-run ball in the win and also chipped in with an RBI double. Tyler Greene, who was recently acquired from the Cardinals, hit his third homer in 12 games as a member of the Astros.

It was a pretty special night for DeFrancesco, who grew up in the Bronx and went to Seton Hall. He had plenty of family and friends in attendance at Citi Field, including his parents.

Here’s video of a post-game toast in the visiting manager’s office, courtesy of Zachary Levine of the Houston Chronicle:

Pretty cool stuff. Last night’s win was just the eighth for the Astros in their last 51 games. As our own Aaron Gleeman noted last night, the Astros are amazingly 4-0 against the Mets this season and 36-86 against everyone else. In other words, the Mets make up 10 percent of their wins this season. LOLMets lives on.

  1. willclarkgameface - Aug 25, 2012 at 10:47 AM

    What’s the over under on wins for this guy for the remainder of the year?

    +/- 9.5

    I say LESS.

    • stex52 - Aug 25, 2012 at 12:05 PM

      Less is likely. They have stripped all of the veteran talent from what was already a weak team. I doubt they would win 60% of their games a AAA right now.

      My hope is that they win at least three more games so they don’t tie the Mets for the worst modern won/loss record. It makes me sick to set our sites that low. But that is where the Astros are.

  2. dondada10 - Aug 25, 2012 at 10:51 AM

    In other news, Terry Collins needs to go.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2723)
  2. C. Correa (2591)
  3. Y. Puig (2586)
  4. G. Springer (2497)
  5. B. Crawford (2472)
  1. H. Ramirez (2386)
  2. H. Pence (2364)
  3. M. Teixeira (2278)
  4. J. Hamilton (2252)
  5. J. Baez (2234)