Skip to content

Braves pick up Jeff Baker from Tigers for PTBN

Aug 31, 2012, 8:23 PM EDT

jeff baker getty Getty Images

The Braves have acquired Baker from the Tigers for a player to be named. Since the move is becoming official tonight, he’ll be eligible for the team’s postseason roster. Baker has hit .254/.293/.408 with four homers and 24 RBI in 169 at-bats for the Cubs and Tigers this season. He’ll provided a little right-handed pop off an Atlanta bench that is short of it.


Less than a month after acquiring Jeff Baker from the Cubs the Tigers have designated the veteran role player for assignment.

Detroit sent a pair of players to be named later to Chicago for Baker on August 5, hoping he could provide some corner outfield/third base depth and solid production versus left-handed pitching.

Instead he got all of 37 plate appearances, went 7-for-35 (.200) with zero homers, and is now off the 40-man roster in favor of Double-A call-up Avisail Garcia.

  1. darthicarus - Aug 31, 2012 at 4:01 PM

    This should be the spark the team needs….

  2. mreezybreezy - Aug 31, 2012 at 4:06 PM

    Wait… Jeff Baker was on the Tigers?

  3. Chipmaker - Aug 31, 2012 at 5:28 PM

    On August 31st? As of tomorrow they could just have buried him on the bench.

    • frank433 - Aug 31, 2012 at 7:16 PM

      They designate him now, then can make Garcia eligible for the post season, if he impresses and they make it.

  4. lorddarkhelmet - Aug 31, 2012 at 8:47 PM

    Garcia has been en fuego lately, glad he got a call up and glad the Tigers can use him in the postseason if they make it.

  5. weaselpuppy - Sep 1, 2012 at 10:45 PM

    Baker looked like garbage…Aubrey Huff 2.0…Sanchez is evening out and is no longer in danger of Washburning the Tigs out of the playoffs as a trade deadline pickup

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2506)
  2. D. Span (2349)
  3. G. Stanton (2284)
  4. Y. Puig (2249)
  5. J. Fernandez (2207)
  1. B. Crawford (2087)
  2. G. Springer (2025)
  3. M. Teixeira (1826)
  4. M. Sano (1818)
  5. J. Hamilton (1752)