Skip to content

Jamey Carroll ends the majors’ longest homerless streak

Sep 4, 2012, 9:42 AM EDT

Minnesota Twins v Chicago White Sox Getty Images

Jamey Carroll hit a home run yesterday. It was his first since Aug. 9, 2009, covering 1,348 at bats and 1,540 plate appearances. That was the longest active homerless streak in baseball.  Now the top guy is Chris Getz with 908. Carroll now has 13 homers in a career that is now in its 11th season.

Speaking of his career span, The Star Tribune talks about how yesterday was also the 10th anniversary of Carroll’s callup to the bigs. Which, incidentally, means that Carroll will be eligible for the Hall of Fame ballot when he retires.  Just planning ahead.

  1. sagnam - Sep 4, 2012 at 9:47 AM


  2. Alex K - Sep 4, 2012 at 10:20 AM

    Nice to see a Purple Ace hanging around MLB.

  3. sknut - Sep 4, 2012 at 11:06 AM

    And his wife surprised him by having his brothers and father come to Chicago to watch the games. Pretty cool for them to be there when he hit a homer.

  4. Detroit Michael - Sep 4, 2012 at 11:30 AM

    I realize that it was just a throw-away comment, but Carroll satisfied the Hall of Fame eligibility requirements when he first played a game during the 2011 season, which was the tenth different season in which he appeared in the majors. If you want to be really technical and assume that the Addie Joss precedent applies, maybe he was eligible for the Hall of Fame once he showed up to spring training 2011.

    Not that he’ll ever be inducted into the Hall of Fame as a player anyway.

  5. Gamera the Brave - Sep 4, 2012 at 3:45 PM

    “…Carroll will be eligible for the Hall of Fame ballot when he retires. Just planning ahead.”
    I think I speak for Mr. Carroll when I say, “Ouch.”

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2418)
  2. B. Crawford (2315)
  3. Y. Puig (2292)
  4. G. Springer (2067)
  5. D. Wright (2012)
  1. J. Hamilton (2001)
  2. J. Fernandez (1982)
  3. D. Span (1917)
  4. H. Ramirez (1886)
  5. C. Correa (1853)