Skip to content

Starling Marte to begin rehab assignment tonight

Sep 4, 2012, 11:19 AM EDT

Starling Marte Getty Getty Images

Pirates rookie Starling Marte will begin a minor-league rehab assignment tonight at Single-A and is scheduled to play at Triple-A tomorrow.

No timetable has been established beyond that, but barring a setback in his recovery from a strained oblique muscle the 23-year-old outfielder could be cleared to rejoin the Pirates’ lineup by the end of the week.

Marte made his MLB debut on July 26 and has hit .253 with four homers and a .421 slugging percentage in 23 games, but that comes with an ugly 24/3 K/BB ratio and .287 on-base percentage that have made him a poor fit as a leadoff man.

Jose Tabata has been the primary fill-in for Marte in left field, so it’ll be interesting to see if he goes right back to the bench or manager Clint Hurdle tries to keep them both in the mix for at-bats.

  1. magicrat13 - Sep 4, 2012 at 11:57 AM

    afraid it is too little too late…

    still have a chance, but they need to turn it around NOW…

    overall proud of the season they have had….honestly thought 2013 would be the first year they would be respectable (.500+, potential wildcard, etc)…

  2. fastwillie39 - Sep 4, 2012 at 12:00 PM

    You haven’t watched one inning of Tababta play this year obviously, he will find the bench or AAA playoffs. He’s had some singles, but not much else and his attitude seems just as bad as ever!

  3. nderdog - Sep 4, 2012 at 6:22 PM

    There’s no way Tabata stays around once the injured players return. I can’t wait to get Tabata back to the minors, he’s been a real problem for us. Marte, McCutchen and Snider/Jones is our outfield. There’s a reason Marte was brought up when he was, to get Tabata out of the lineup.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2506)
  2. D. Span (2347)
  3. G. Stanton (2282)
  4. Y. Puig (2247)
  5. J. Fernandez (2202)
  1. B. Crawford (2084)
  2. G. Springer (2023)
  3. M. Teixeira (1822)
  4. M. Sano (1816)
  5. J. Hamilton (1749)