Skip to content

Sore elbow puts Chad Billingsley on 60-day disabled list

Sep 5, 2012, 6:52 PM EDT

Chad Billingsley AP

As of a couple of days ago, the Dodgers were holding out hope that Chad Billingsley might be able to contribute as a reliever later this month. That dream is now dead, as he was transferred from the 15-day to the 60-day disabled list on Wednesday.

Left-hander Steven Rodriguez, a 2012 second-round pick who was pitching for the Florida Gators a couple of months ago, was called up to join the bullpen.

Billingsley was having a nice bounce-back season before his elbow shut him down last month. He won seven straight starts from July 23-Aug. 19, and he was 10-9 with a 3.55 ERA when he went on the disabled list.

Without Billingsley and Ted Lilly, the Dodgers are currently going with a rotation of Clayton Kershaw, Chris Capuano, Josh Beckett, Aaron Harang and Joe Blanton. Lilly, out since late May with a sore shoulder, threw a simulated game Wednesday and is hoping to rejoin the Dodgers later this month, but he lacks the time necessary to get stretched out to start.

  1. succulentnipples - Sep 5, 2012 at 7:20 PM

    I have a sore right testicle. Can I have sixty days off from my job?

    • manchestermiracle - Sep 6, 2012 at 10:37 AM

      Sure, as long as your job requires you to use your nads…..

  2. dawgpoundmember - Sep 5, 2012 at 11:51 PM

    i never thought about this, but what is the difference between 15 and 60 day DL other than eligibility to be reinstated? if there is absolutely no difference then why transfer anybody from 15 to 60 DL?

    • bigoz71 - Sep 6, 2012 at 2:27 AM

      The 60 day DL allows the team to add another player to the 40 man roster without placing a player on waivers.

  3. manchestermiracle - Sep 6, 2012 at 10:38 AM

    Unlike most of their past, pitching (as in a lack of) will prove to be the Dodgers’ downfall this season.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2934)
  2. Y. Cespedes (2304)
  3. J. Fernandez (2300)
  4. G. Stanton (2115)
  5. D. Span (1917)
  1. M. Teixeira (1900)
  2. Y. Puig (1894)
  3. G. Springer (1851)
  4. H. Olivera (1834)
  5. C. Sabathia (1802)