Skip to content

The Braves beat the Rockies 1-0 for the second straight day

Sep 6, 2012, 3:31 PM EDT

Wiln Rosario, Luan Francisco

That’s gotta hurt.

For the second straight day the Braves beat the Rockies 1-0.  For the second straight day, the game’s lone run was unearned. Here it came on an error by pitcher Jhoulys Chacin. And not just some ordinary error. Juan Francisco was on third base. Catcher Wilin Rosario threw the ball back to Chacin after a pitch and Chacin flat out missed it. Just missed the ball. It rolled out towards second and Francisco broke for home.

Yesterday’s came on a throwing error by Josh Rutledge, which was sort of tame by comparison.

It was the first time the Braves have won back-to-back 1-0 games since 1971.  It was the first time the Rockies have ever lost back-to-back 1-0 games.

Baseball, man. Baseball.

  1. natslady - Sep 6, 2012 at 3:55 PM

    Cheer up, Craig. A win is a win. They don’t settle ’em by run differential–yet.

  2. jamessmyth621 - Sep 6, 2012 at 4:10 PM

    This is only the third time since 1918 that a team lost back-to-back 1-0 games on unearned runs. The others are the 1984 Reds (July 28 & 29) and the 1967 Angels (May 12 & 13). However, none of those four runs scored on an actual error, so this is breaking new ground. Add the fact that today’s run came home on a comical/sad K-Rod-esque disaster on the mound and it’s truly ridiculous.

  3. number42is1 - Sep 6, 2012 at 4:27 PM

    I’d be more impressed had they done this in Colorado

  4. fat4jc - Sep 6, 2012 at 6:54 PM

    Ladies and gentlemen, the 2012 Colorado Rockies.

  5. plmathfoto - Sep 7, 2012 at 2:20 PM

    Has it ever happened before (I’m sure it has but dunno) that a guy goes 4 for 4 like Blackmon did, and his team loses 1-0?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2519)
  2. C. Correa (2517)
  3. Y. Puig (2512)
  4. B. Crawford (2402)
  5. H. Pence (2273)
  1. G. Springer (2224)
  2. H. Ramirez (2157)
  3. M. Teixeira (2144)
  4. J. Hamilton (2126)
  5. J. Baez (2096)