Skip to content

J.A. Happ done for season with foot injury

Sep 8, 2012, 12:31 PM EDT

J.A. Happ Getty Getty Images

The Blue Jays haven’t been able to catch a break with their pitching staff this season, so it makes perfect sense that J.A. Happ is done for the year with an injury to his right foot.

According to Ken Fidlin of the Toronto Sun, Blue Jays manager John Farrell said a fracture was found in the foot after he felt lingering discomfort in his ankle following a play at first base on August 29 against the Yankees.

“We’re not quite sure where it started,” manager John Farrell said. “The play at first base irritated his ankle where he was feeling discomfort at the time. When the discomfort lingered, we had an MRI done and it showed a fracture in the foot. The recommendation is to have surgery and his season is over.”

Happ, who was acquired from the Astros in July in a 10-player trade, posted a 4.69 ERA and 46/17 K/BB ratio in 40 1/3 innings over six starts and four relief appearances with Toronto. The 29-year-old southpaw is the eighth Blue Jays pitcher to go down with a season-ending injury this year, joining Robert Coello, Kyle Drabek, Drew Hutchison, Jesse Litsch, Dustin McGowan, Luis Perez and Sergio Santos.

  1. proudlycanadian - Sep 8, 2012 at 12:53 PM

    This injury was announced yesterday on the radio by AA. I first saw it mentioned on Rotoworld yesterday, which to its credit posted the story before most of the local media. Laffey takes his spot in the rotation and will start today.

  2. areyesrn - Sep 8, 2012 at 3:22 PM

    wow…I was one Phillies fan who didn’t want him traded away…he’s had bad luck ever since. Poor kid

  3. jason9696 - Sep 8, 2012 at 4:17 PM

    It’s unreal how many injuries the Blue Jays have had this year.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2786)
  2. C. Correa (2475)
  3. Y. Puig (2461)
  4. G. Stanton (2406)
  5. G. Springer (2327)
  1. H. Pence (2246)
  2. J. Hamilton (2139)
  3. M. Teixeira (1930)
  4. H. Ramirez (1916)
  5. J. Fernandez (1886)