Skip to content

Give the guy an error already!

Sep 15, 2012, 9:31 PM EDT

Jeff Francoeur

Baseball-reference.com has spent the evening counting down to the 500,000th error of all-time. Not that it’s really the 500,000th error, but at least it’s the 500,000th error in the best database the Internet has to offer.

The Royals’ Jeff Francoeur pretty obviously committed what would have been No. 499,999 here — at least I think that’s where they’re at — but alas, the Kansas City official scorer decided it wasn’t meant to be.

Here’s the video for those with access to MLB.com Gameday.

For those that don’t, Torii Hunter hit a liner to right field that Francoeur had no problem getting to. However, Francoeur lost the ball in the lights at the last second and it hit off his glove. The ruling was an RBI single, which isn’t particularly surprising. But I still think it’s ridiculous. The ball was in his glove! It’s bad enough that they won’t give errors for balls outfielders circle around and don’t touch. If the ball hits him in the glove and he’s not diving or running towards the wall at full speed, it’s a freakin’ error.

///

And in case you were wondering…

  1. cubsrice - Sep 15, 2012 at 10:09 PM

    Looks like B-Ref gave #500K to Jose Reyes.

  2. styx630 - Sep 15, 2012 at 10:14 PM

    Fitting it would be the Marlins.

  3. sabathiawouldbegoodattheeighthtoo - Sep 15, 2012 at 10:46 PM

    Did Jose give it to himself on purpose, like the batting crown last year where he removed himself from his final home game for the Mets to preserve his lead?? Dude loves to see his name on records. Team be damned.

  4. Tim's Neighbor - Sep 16, 2012 at 1:04 AM

    It’s seemingly not relevant to most baseball bloggers/writers, but I think the exception is here. You’ve obviously never played baseball or played baseball well. What a piss-poor analysis. You really are the worst on this website. If you weren’t such an A-hole, I could deal with it. But you’re a pretentious jack-wagon who has no business criticizing anyone. Seriously, look in the mirror and then write. Maybe you’ll have so humility.

    • Matthew Pouliot - Sep 16, 2012 at 1:37 AM

      Are you kidding? I spend most of the time I’m writing looking in the mirror. Just can’t get enough.

      There’s nothing here the least bit critical of Francoeur. Sh*t happens, and I hardly blamed him for losing a ball in the lights. Giving him an error is simply the fairest way to score the play. Hunter doesn’t deserve a hit, and Guthrie sure didn’t deserve an earned run.

    • oldpaddy - Sep 16, 2012 at 6:24 AM

      Tim, have you met Craig yet? You’ll live him! He’ll be back blogging on Monday.

    • woodyqq2 - Sep 16, 2012 at 9:49 AM

      Tim, I’m quite sure that most of those nasty thoughts you said about Matt was meant for yourself. You must have been looking in the mirror at the time you made them. Oh by the way, you apparently haven’t been on this site long as you would surely feel more compelled to write those comments about Craig and not Matt. Clicking your own thumbs up? Come on, look in the mirror again.

  5. succulentnipples - Sep 16, 2012 at 7:54 AM

    It’s funny because Reyes is still a met inside. Loser.

  6. phillyphannn83 - Sep 16, 2012 at 9:38 AM

    Timsneighbor, I played baseball for 9 years, making my leagues all-star team every single year, I’d say that’s playing baseball well wouldn’t you? The play should have been an error, no doubt about it. Matt had the correct analysis here, if you’re a professional ballplayer, and the ball hits your glove and you’re not diving or crashing into the wall, its an error. Furthermore, every single outfielder and most infielders have caught a ball they lost in the lights at some point in their career. Its not impossible and its not an excuse. Stop baggin on the writer just because he said your man-crush deserved an error.

  7. MattJanik - Sep 17, 2012 at 1:04 PM

    For what its worth, as an official scorer at the college level:

    Ball lost in the lights/sun is a base hit, every time. The rule-book wording regarding what constitutes an error is a ball that could have been handled “with ordinary effort”… Once you’re blinded by the sun/lights, ordinary effort is pretty well out the window… I’m fairly certain it’s common practice across MLB that a ball lost in the sun/lights is scored as a hit.

    While the MLB scoring rules do not appear to reference the situation directly, the NCAA scoring rules do specifically mention that a ball lost in the sun/lights should NOT be scored as an error (and save a couple unique situations like home-plate collisions and sliding to break up the double play, the playing rules are the same at both levels).

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

This was 'the perfect baseball game'
Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. S. Kazmir (4993)
  2. K. Uehara (4322)
  3. T. Wood (3673)
  4. G. Springer (3484)
  5. J. Kubel (3308)
  1. M. Machado (3175)
  2. T. Walker (3018)
  3. H. Rondon (3009)
  4. D. Pedroia (2955)
  5. J. Reyes (2903)