Skip to content

Ryan Zimmerman gets another cortisone shot, likely needs offseason shoulder surgery

Sep 19, 2012, 2:14 PM EDT

zimmerman getty Getty Images

Ryan Zimmerman went from having a miserable season to being one of the best hitters in baseball after getting a cortisone injection in his injured right shoulder on June 24, but with the effects starting to wear off the Nationals third baseman got another shot today.

Prior to the injection Zimmerman hit just .218 with three homers and a .590 OPS in 55 games. Since the injection he’s hit .332 with 19 homers and a .994 OPS in 75 games. No wonder he’s going back for seconds.

Also of note is that manager Davey Johnson told reporters that Zimmerman will likely need offseason surgery on his shoulder, which has been an issue all year. It’s expected to be arthroscopic surgery, so it shouldn’t impact Zimmerman’s readiness for next season.

  1. plmathfoto - Sep 19, 2012 at 2:22 PM

    Anyone thinking of nominating Zimmerman’s cortisone shooting doctor for NL MVP?

  2. frenchysplatediscipline - Sep 19, 2012 at 2:26 PM

    he’s soft

  3. cjh88 - Sep 19, 2012 at 3:10 PM

    So this is a drug that is likely going to enhance his performance? Uh oh….

    • thereisaparty - Sep 19, 2012 at 4:04 PM

      caffeine is also a drug that enhances performance. This is a fun game

  4. thereisaparty - Sep 19, 2012 at 4:03 PM

    *Going back for fourths

    As I have pointed out before, the June 24 injection was the third injection he received.

    I no substantive medical knowledge, so I am unaware as to why the first two didn’t work. But it seems that we should be skeptical that this one will work.

    Anyone with understanding of this procedure want to help fill me in? Is this favourable timeline around the third injection proof that it was that specific injection and not the prior two?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. H. Ramirez (2428)
  2. G. Stanton (2383)
  3. G. Springer (2368)
  4. C. Correa (2326)
  5. J. Baez (2316)