Skip to content

Brad Ausmus withdraws from Astros’ managerial race

Sep 21, 2012, 6:39 PM EDT

Brad Ausmus AP

Brad Ausmus interviewed for the open Houston managerial position, but he withdrew from consideration for the job on Friday.

In a text message to, he attributed the decision to “personal reasons” and said he wishes the Astros “the best of luck.”

The 43-year-old Ausmus spent nine of his 18-big league seasons with Houston, playing for the team in 1997-98 and 2001-08 before finishing up with the Dodgers in 2009-10. He was widely viewed as a future manager during his playing career.

Whether Ausmus’ decision had anything to do with his current gig as Team Israel’s manager in the World Baseball Classic is unclear. Assuming that Israel is able to advance out of the preliminary rounds, Ausmus would be tied up with the team for a portion of March, something that would definitely interfere with any sort of major league job.

  1. billymc75 - Sep 21, 2012 at 7:55 PM

    One name that should get a shot anywhere, any team-Billy Ripken JR.

    • mazblast - Sep 21, 2012 at 8:23 PM

      Who do you mean? Billy isn’t a Jr., and Cal Jr. isn’t Billy.

  2. husky2score - Sep 21, 2012 at 8:18 PM

    The Astros are too bad for Brad.

  3. ptfu - Sep 21, 2012 at 9:27 PM

    Brad, when you feel you’re ready, I’m sure there will be a manager’s job open for you. Astros or otherwise.

  4. stex52 - Sep 21, 2012 at 11:07 PM

    Maybe the time is not right now. I would like very much to see Ausmus be the Astros’ manager.

  5. dannythebisforbeast - Sep 22, 2012 at 9:09 AM

    Maybe he doesn’t want his resume to start with a .350 winning percentage.

  6. surly1n1nd1anapol1s - Sep 22, 2012 at 9:59 AM

    Good decision to withdraw. I wouldn’t wis that team on any manager.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2492)
  2. G. Stanton (2477)
  3. Y. Puig (2459)
  4. B. Crawford (2348)
  5. H. Pence (2221)
  1. G. Springer (2189)
  2. M. Teixeira (2109)
  3. H. Ramirez (2099)
  4. J. Hamilton (2082)
  5. J. Baez (2059)