Skip to content

Ricky Romero snaps 13-game losing streak

Sep 25, 2012, 1:18 PM EDT

Ricky Romero Reuters

It wasn’t pretty, as he gave up four runs in five innings with more walks than strikeouts, but Ricky Romero snapped his 13-game losing streak with a victory over the Orioles last night.

Toronto’s lineup handed Romero four runs of support in the first two innings and scored nine total runs, so like most “wins” it was heavily dependent on something other than the pitcher’s performance.

He’ll still take it, though, as Romero hadn’t won since way back on June 22. At that point he was 8-1 with a 4.34 ERA, but then he went through a brutal 15-start stretch in which Romero was 0-13 with a 7.42 ERA and more walks (53) than strikeouts (49) in 78 innings.

Last night’s outing wasn’t much to get excited about, but at this point even baby steps in the right direction probably seem pretty big for the 27-year-old former All-Star.

  1. missthemexpos - Sep 25, 2012 at 1:53 PM

    Toronto pitchers will have to cut down big time next year on the number of free passes to first base. It is hard to watch this years crop of pitchers handing out walks like people handing out candy on Halloween night, A scary situation indeed.

  2. brianforster - Sep 25, 2012 at 2:25 PM

    he pitched terribly last night, can’t believe he still got the W. im actually kind of embarrassed my orioles couldnt complete the comeback, but at the same time i guess it comes with being competitive that the losses hurt a little more.

  3. cur68 - Sep 25, 2012 at 2:51 PM

    A Tip O’ The Beaver Cap, please, for the stalwart Brad Lincoln and for the excellent arm and speed of the much maligned rookie Anthony Gose. Between them they saved Ricky’s ass with the bases loaded and no one out.

  4. jaysjunkie - Sep 25, 2012 at 4:09 PM


Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2782)
  2. C. Correa (2468)
  3. Y. Puig (2456)
  4. G. Stanton (2403)
  5. G. Springer (2323)
  1. H. Pence (2243)
  2. J. Hamilton (2135)
  3. M. Teixeira (1925)
  4. H. Ramirez (1916)
  5. J. Fernandez (1885)