Skip to content

Phillies decide not to play Chase Utley at third base after all

Sep 28, 2012, 6:26 PM EDT

Chase Utley, Eury Perez AP

The Phillies have decided to put on hold the experiment of trying Chase Utley at third base before the season ends, and it sounds like the team has soured on the idea of making it a full-time switch next year.

Moving Utley to third and putting Freddy Galvis at second would really only make sense for the Phillies if they’re convinced it’d help Utley stay healthy. Despite his knee problems, Utley remains a find defender at second, and Galvis was a pretty brutal hitter even before getting hurt and being suspended for PEDs this year. The team would likely be best served by keeping Utley at second, bringing in a decent regular for third and letting Galvis serve as middle-infield insurance.

  1. xmatt0926x - Sep 28, 2012 at 7:06 PM

    I never got the whole idea to begin with unless the move would have meant a lot less stress on his knees. His throws from 2nd seem stressful. I couldn’t imagine him throwing from deep in the hole at 3rd. And Galvis offensively reminds me of Steve Jeltz… No Phillies fan should have to sit through that again.

  2. greymares - Sep 28, 2012 at 11:10 PM

    I’m looking to see Chase at third for Philly. Chase Headley that is.

  3. scotttheskeptic - Sep 29, 2012 at 2:29 AM

    If they want to save Utley’s knees, they need to trade Howard (eat a lot of contract). Move Utley to first base.

    • protius - Sep 29, 2012 at 10:24 AM

      Howard is the only sentient being on that team. With the exception of Utley, the rest are all primates of some type or another.

      Utley is living proof that Neanderthals interbred with modern humans.

      • greymares - Sep 29, 2012 at 11:01 AM

        Your Mom ?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2470)
  2. D. Span (2317)
  3. G. Stanton (2247)
  4. Y. Puig (2207)
  5. J. Fernandez (2161)
  1. G. Springer (1979)
  2. B. Crawford (1952)
  3. M. Sano (1794)
  4. M. Teixeira (1788)
  5. J. Hamilton (1713)