Skip to content

David Price notches 20th win, Johnny Cueto falls short

Sep 30, 2012, 7:05 PM EDT

David Price Getty Images

With both of MLB’s remaining 19-game winners making their final starts today, we now know we’ll finish the year with four 20-game winners. The Rays’ David Price got to 20 by beating the White Sox today, but the Reds’ Johnny Cueto was left with a no-decision after allowing three runs — one earned — in seven innings in a no-decision against the Pirates.

Gio Gonzalez (21), R.A. Dickey (20) and Jered Weaver (20) had already reached the mark.

The four 20-game winners is the high total since 2008, when Roy Halladay, Cliff Lee, Mike Mussina and Brandon Webb all reached the plateau. There hasn’t been more than four since 2003, when Roy Halladay, Esteban Loaiza, Jamie Moyer, Russ Ortiz and Andy Pettitte made it five.

With pitching having made something of a comeback, there have been 10 20-game winners these last three seasons. Despite 2008’s total of four, there were a total of five 20-game winners in the four years from 2006-09.

  1. tfbuckfutter - Sep 30, 2012 at 7:26 PM

    Fernando Rodney also pulled into a tie with Dennis Eckersley on the ERA record if I’m not mistaken.

    • Matthew Pouliot - Sep 30, 2012 at 7:31 PM

      Gonna do something on that in a bit!

  2. natsattack - Sep 30, 2012 at 7:37 PM

    Can we get a post on that, it seems deserving compared to the post about the Nats’ rookies.

  3. ch0psuey - Sep 30, 2012 at 9:15 PM

    Price is a stud. Hasnt had too much attention this season up until now from the media.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. J. Baez (2351)
  2. B. Crawford (2284)
  3. H. Pence (2240)
  4. A. Rodriguez (2216)
  5. B. Harper (2167)