Skip to content

More come forward to accuse Red Sox late clubhouse manager Donald Fitzpatrick of sexual abuse

Oct 2, 2012, 2:00 PM EDT

Red Sox logo

We talked last winter about Donald Fitzpatrick, the now-deceased former Red Sox clubhouse manager who was accused of and admitted to multiple counts of sexual abuse of clubhouse attendants prior to his dismissal in 1991. Now, years after his death, new accusations continue to arise:

The toll of men who claim they were violated as youths by the team’s late clubhouse manager Donald J. Fitzpatrick has grown again, with a former Kansas City clubhouse attendant, Gerald Armstrong, alleging that Fitzpatrick repeatedly molested him in the late 1960s amid the worst sexual abuse scandal in Major League Baseball history.

With Armstrong’s allegations, there are now 20 men demanding a combined $100 million — $5 million each — from the Sox for misconduct they claim Fitzpatrick committed from the 1960s until he left the team in 1991.

Armstrong tells his story in the piece.

With the accused dead and the statute of limitations up for these claims, the Red Sox are not obligated to pay anyone over these claims. But pressure is being brought to bear by the accusers and their attorneys over the matter.

  1. randygnyc - Oct 2, 2012 at 2:13 PM

    I hate bogus lawsuits. The molester is dead. The organization doesn’t even have the same management or ownership. There’s a reason that there are statute of limitations on civil litigation. I’m sorry that you were violated 40 years ago but the time to speak up was long ago.

  2. hushbrother - Oct 2, 2012 at 2:15 PM

    Nauseating, and all the more reason Tom Yawkey shouldn’t be in the Hall of Fame, for keeping a creep like Fitzpatrick employed and with access to young boys.

    • cur68 - Oct 2, 2012 at 2:25 PM

      Sort of takes the PEDS/HOF sting away, doesn’t it? The likes of Yawkey make the HOF (“Character clause”? What Character Clause?) but don’t take an enhancer! No way!

      Yawkey harmed baseball and set back his own franchise with his racist hiring policies and keeping the likes of Fitzpatrick around. I don’t believe the sins of Yawkey, though, should reflect poorly on the Sox of today. I find it enormously difficult to know what to say about this suit. Will it ease what this man went through? Will it correct any wrongs? I do not know. The whole business is just awful.

      • The Rabbit - Oct 2, 2012 at 2:59 PM

        The problem, cur, is that there is no way to tell if it’s the truth or a fabrication hoping for a lottery payout.
        When there is a transit accident, there are generally more people claiming injuries than were on the bus. As sad and unfortunate as this situation is you just don’t actually know how many and which people were injured.
        If some lawyer(s) would like to pursue a claim against the Yawkeys’ assets, good luck, but I don’t think the current Red Sox ownership should be held liable for anything that happened 40 years ago.

  3. randygnyc - Oct 2, 2012 at 2:59 PM

    We’re there any accusations ever made to management/ownership while Fitzpatrick was still there? How can they be culpable if they didn’t know?

  4. gotampabay52 - Oct 2, 2012 at 3:08 PM

    So, the Red Sox did this kind of stuff before Penn State? Why do men prey on little boys, sad. Karma will get you……

  5. randygnyc - Oct 2, 2012 at 3:51 PM

    The difference, as far as I can tell, regarding penn state, is that they had some indication as early as 1992 and the abuse continued for many years after. Either your naive and think penn state officials were ignorant of it or your cynical like me and believe they covered up the scandal. We have no evidence, that I know of, that the red sox had any inclination that this was happening during fitzpatrick’s employment.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2836)
  2. C. Correa (2649)
  3. Y. Puig (2567)
  4. G. Stanton (2524)
  5. G. Springer (2498)
  1. H. Pence (2382)
  2. J. Hamilton (2229)
  3. H. Ramirez (2157)
  4. M. Teixeira (2097)
  5. J. Baez (2028)