Skip to content

Tigers set ALDS rotation, push Max Scherzer to Game 4

Oct 5, 2012, 12:48 PM EDT

Justin Verlander AP AP

Justin Verlander starting Game 1 was a given and today the Tigers announced the rest of their ALDS rotation against the A’s:

Doug Fister in Game 2, Anibal Sanchez in Game 3, and Max Scherzer in Game 4. And then if the series goes to a Game 5 it would be Verlander getting the ball again.

If healthy Scherzer seems likely to have gotten a start before Game 4, but between late-season shoulder problems and tweaking his ankle celebrating the division title manager Jim Leyland smartly decided to give him as much rest as possible. And it’s not like Fister and Sanchez are bad Game 2 and Game 3 options, obviously.

Detroit using four right-handers starters means the left-handed-hitting side of Oakland’s platoons will have to step up, as Brandon Moss and Seth Smith will likely be starting every game with Chris Carter and Jonny Gomes on the bench. Overall this season the A’s essentially had equal production versus righties and lefties.

  1. gigab0t - Oct 5, 2012 at 2:05 PM

    Absolutely love the Tigers/As matchup, can’t wait to watch.

  2. xjokerz - Oct 5, 2012 at 3:01 PM

    a little shocked by this move.. but all 4 pitchers have been good down the stretch

    go tigs

  3. scatterbrian - Oct 5, 2012 at 4:07 PM

    Four RHPs also means Kottaras over Norris catching, and Pennington over Rosales at 2B.

  4. legacybroken - Oct 5, 2012 at 4:48 PM

    Detroit matches up well against Oakland and they were one of the few teams that beat up on the A’s during the stretch run. If Texas gets eliminated tonight, The Tigers could be the favourite.

  5. joelwrobinson - Oct 5, 2012 at 9:20 PM

    Better luck next year, Detroit.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2987)
  2. D. Span (2539)
  3. G. Stanton (2473)
  4. J. Fernandez (2441)
  5. G. Springer (2423)
  1. Y. Puig (2330)
  2. F. Rodney (2216)
  3. M. Teixeira (2191)
  4. G. Perkins (2074)
  5. H. Olivera (1951)