Skip to content

Justin Verlander does Justin Verlander things as Tigers defeat A’s in Game 1 of ALDS

Oct 6, 2012, 9:20 PM EDT

justin verlander getty Getty Images

It didn’t look good for the Tigers when A’s speedster Coco Crisp hit a leadoff home run in the top of the first inning of Saturday night’s ALDS Game 1 in Detroit. But that feeling changed pretty quickly.

Verlander settled in after Crisp’s shot to right field, yielding just two hits over the rest of his outing while fanning 11 total batters in an eventual 3-1 victory.

The right-hander was hitting 98 mph with his fastball in the seventh inning, even with temperatures hovering just above 40 degrees at Comerica Park.

According to ESPN’s Stats & Info, Verlander is the first American League pitcher to rack up 11 or more strikeouts over seven innings or fewer in a postseason game since Pedro Martinez in 1999. At one point, the Tigers’ ace punched out five Oakland hitters in a row.

Things should get a little easier for the A’s in Game 2 against Doug Fister, but it’s safe to say they have their backs against the wall in this five-game divisional series. With one more game to play in the Motor City.

  1. nflfollower - Oct 6, 2012 at 9:27 PM

    Remember fister recently tied the American league record for consecutive K’s, so while he may not be the reigning MVP and Cy Young, he’s no walk in the park. The tigers are a real threat in the postseason right now because after verlander, they have a really good rotation that is actually underrated.

  2. elwaysmilehighdenver - Oct 6, 2012 at 9:32 PM

    Awesome effort JV. 2012 Cy Young winner! Go Tigers!

  3. legacybroken - Oct 6, 2012 at 9:41 PM

    Fister at home is pretty tough to beat.

    • historiophiliac - Oct 6, 2012 at 9:58 PM

      Dog in the park!

      • ponsonbybritt - Oct 6, 2012 at 10:43 PM

        Here we go again! :-)

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2738)
  2. Y. Puig (2402)
  3. G. Stanton (2357)
  4. C. Correa (2336)
  5. G. Springer (2260)
  1. H. Pence (2157)
  2. J. Hamilton (2073)
  3. M. Teixeira (1866)
  4. H. Ramirez (1861)
  5. J. Fernandez (1844)