Skip to content

Don Kelly launches walkoff sacrifice fly as Tigers take 2-0 lead over Athletics in ALDS

Oct 7, 2012, 3:45 PM EDT

Don Kelly AP

The Tigers designated Don Kelly for assignment in early August. And now he’s a postseason hero.

The 32-year-old utilityman scored a game-tying tally as a pinch-runner in the bottom of the eight inning then hit a walkoff sacrifice fly to deep right-center field in the bottom of the ninth as Detroit topped Oakland 5-4 in Game 2 of the ALDS on Sunday afternoon at a chilly but rowdy Comerica Park.

Tigers starter Doug Fister fanned eight batters over seven strong innings and MVP candidate Miguel Cabrera finished 3-for-5 with two doubles and a run.

Despite being the higher seed, the A’s now head home trailing two games in this five-game division series.

Brett Anderson, who hasn’t pitched since September 19 because of an oblique strain, will try to play the role of savior for Oakland in Game 3. Anibal Sanchez will take the mound looking to wrap it up for the Tigers.

  1. senotonom205 - Oct 7, 2012 at 3:53 PM

    Pretty sure Sanchez is starting game 3 unless that just changed.

    • Drew Silva - Oct 7, 2012 at 3:54 PM

      Oops, thank you.

  2. craggt - Oct 7, 2012 at 3:56 PM

    Every time the A’s have scored in this series the Tigers have answered in the bottom of the inning.

  3. mungman69 - Oct 7, 2012 at 4:55 PM

    Yes, the A’s might be down 2-0 but since they have home field advantage all they have to do is win three in a row.

    • xjokerz - Oct 8, 2012 at 3:45 AM

      yes..thats all they have to do is win 3 in a row….easy task im sure

  4. metalhead65 - Oct 7, 2012 at 5:14 PM

    wait the A’s can’t lose they are the kings of money ball and saber metrics right? they should win on that alone right? hope anybody but them win.

  5. gosuhgo - Oct 7, 2012 at 5:21 PM

    Don Kelly: designated for heroics.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2734)
  2. Y. Puig (2396)
  3. G. Stanton (2353)
  4. C. Correa (2331)
  5. G. Springer (2257)
  1. H. Pence (2152)
  2. J. Hamilton (2069)
  3. M. Teixeira (1865)
  4. H. Ramirez (1859)
  5. J. Fernandez (1844)