Skip to content

Brett Anderson dazzles in Game 3 of ALDS as Athletics shut out Tigers and stay alive

Oct 9, 2012, 11:46 PM EDT

brett anderson getty Getty Images

A’s left-hander Brett Anderson made only six starts during the regular season and had not pitched since September 19 because of an oblique strain, so there was reason for concern about how he’d fare in Game 3 of the ALDS on Tuesday night against the Tigers.

It didn’t take long for those concerns to disappear.

Anderson came out scorching in the top of the first inning, fanning Tigers leadoff man Austin Jackson and No. 2 hitter Omar Infante before inducing a groundout from MVP candidate Miguel Cabrera.

Anderson wound up allowing just two hits over six innings while punching out six Detroit batters as the A’s rolled to a 2-0 victory over the Tigers in what could have been a knockout game.

The Oakland bullpen also deserves great credit. Ryan Cook cruised through the seventh, Sean Doolittle fanned all three batters he faced in the eighth and Grant Balfour raged his way to a scoreless ninth.

The A’s will throw A.J. Griffin in Game 4 on Wednesday against Max Scherzer. We have a series, folks.

  1. APBA Guy - Oct 10, 2012 at 12:06 AM

    Brett F*****G Anderson!

    I’ll have a more intelligent comment tomorrow after I’m done celebrating. It’s been a long time since the A’s won a game in the post season, since 2006.

  2. ohsoblessed1 - Oct 10, 2012 at 12:08 AM

    Go Oakland!!!

  3. demolition510 - Oct 10, 2012 at 12:22 AM

    Let’s do this boys! Let’s go Oakland

  4. detroitcityryda - Oct 10, 2012 at 1:02 PM

    Oakland played a perfect game but tonight is a different story tiger bats won’t sleep for long .have a feeling They will hit the kid hard in game 4 and wrap this thing up .its been fun Oakland !!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2865)
  2. D. Span (2439)
  3. G. Stanton (2346)
  4. J. Fernandez (2346)
  5. G. Springer (2208)
  1. F. Rodney (2154)
  2. Y. Puig (2110)
  3. M. Teixeira (2061)
  4. G. Perkins (1988)
  5. H. Olivera (1862)