Skip to content

Giants leaning towards starting Tim Lincecum in Game 4

Oct 15, 2012, 6:16 PM EDT

Tim Lincecum Getty Images

The Giants’ Tim Lincecum said he was ready to pitch in relief tonight after throwing two scoreless innings in Sunday’s Game 1 against the Cardinals. However, it appears to be manager Bruce Bochy’s strong preference to reserve him for the Game 4 start, according to CSN Bay Area’s Andrew Baggarly.

“We’d like to have that option if we decide to go that way,” Bochy said. “We’ll do all we can to win this one. And we also have Barry Zito if we use Timmy.”

Of course, Zito could still get his start later on. Bochy appears to be weighing using him over the struggling Madison Bumgarner in Game 5.

Asked if he would pick Zito over Bumgarner, Bochy hedged, saying that “it’s still a decision.”

If Lincecum gets the start in Thursday’s Game 4, it would be his first since Sept. 30. He’s allowed one run in 8 1/3 innings during his three postseason relief appearances.

  1. sfm073 - Oct 15, 2012 at 7:04 PM

    What a drop off, a two time cy young winner is pitching out of the bp at the age of 28.

    • lazlosother - Oct 15, 2012 at 9:23 PM

      Off years happen. We’ll see what happens with Tim in the future. Right now he looks like a pretty good option for this series.

      • sailcat54 - Oct 15, 2012 at 11:35 PM

        Tim had a very good second half of the season and he has had a couple of strong outings in relief. I can’t see why anyone would criticize him…unless they are afraid of seeing him on the mound facing the Card’s inconsistent hitting staff, of course.

  2. bayarea510 - Oct 15, 2012 at 7:13 PM

    I think all SF Giants fans can agree with me when I say it’s time to shut Bumgarner down for the season. He hasn’t looked himself for the last 2 months. Have to remember he is only 22.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2860)
  2. D. Span (2434)
  3. J. Fernandez (2339)
  4. G. Stanton (2337)
  5. G. Springer (2192)
  1. F. Rodney (2151)
  2. Y. Puig (2097)
  3. M. Teixeira (2050)
  4. G. Perkins (1980)
  5. H. Olivera (1858)