Skip to content

Hunter Pence slugs long solo homer to get Giants on board in Game 4

Oct 18, 2012, 9:05 PM EDT

Hunter Pence Getty Getty Images

Hunter Pence‘s struggles caused him to be dropped to sixth in the order in Game 4 tonight, but he has responded in a big way.

Pence launched a long solo home run to left field off Adam Wainwright in the top of the second inning to get the Giants on the board. According to Alex Pavlovic of the San Jose Mercury News, it traveled an estimated 451 feet.

Pence entered tonight’s action hitting just .161 (5-for-31) with no extra-base hits or RBI this postseason.

Pete Kozma reached on a fielding error to lead off the bottom of the second against Tim Lincecum, but he was quickly erased on a stolen base attempt. Not exactly the best idea to give away outs to the guy who is struggling. Lincecum walked two in the inning, including opposing pitcher Adam Wainwright, but he managed to escape and keep the score at 2-1. Still, he’s already at 44 pitches, so it’s unlikely he’ll last long in this one.

The Giants had a chance to tie it up in the top of the third inning when Angel Pagan reached on a two-out triple, but Wainwright got Marco Scutaro on a comebacker to end the threat. The Cardinals lead this one 2-1 as we move to the bottom of the third inning.

  1. royalsfaninfargo - Oct 18, 2012 at 9:14 PM

    McCarver just pushed the ARod to Miami line. That was his “Professional” opinion.

    • ugglasforearms - Oct 18, 2012 at 9:24 PM

      I hope McCarver goes to Miami and works anywhere except on nationally televised baseball broadcasts.

      • royalsfaninfargo - Oct 18, 2012 at 9:49 PM

        Amen to that.

  2. vader3234 - Oct 18, 2012 at 11:12 PM

    Home run or not Pence has been a total disappointment. Any way to trade this offensive dead weight before next year?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2822)
  2. C. Correa (2620)
  3. Y. Puig (2534)
  4. G. Stanton (2499)
  5. G. Springer (2438)
  1. H. Pence (2355)
  2. J. Hamilton (2204)
  3. M. Teixeira (2008)
  4. H. Ramirez (1982)
  5. J. Fernandez (1960)